We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cloister at Sea Island
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Inn at Sea Island(Saint Simons Island)
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$169
$152
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$189
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus St. Simons(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$127
$118
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Lodge(Saint Simons Island)
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center(Jekyll Island)(Great Value!)
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveler rating
721
119
43
23
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
721
119
43
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian roombeach clubsouthern tidemain buildingadult poolfive star resortriver barshooting schoolfitness centerfour seasonshorseback ridingsouthern charmriver viewturn down servicecolt alisonold worldone bedroom suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 930 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Everything about this place is magical. The architecture of the old hotel, the setting and every amenity available is at your disposal for a perfect weekend.

I highly recommend asking for a room in the original building. The other buildings are equally lovely, but there is such a sense of history in those rooms.

Our "room" was enormous. We had beautiful views of the marsh. The bathroom was actually a dressing room with ample his/ her closets, heated floors and his / her vanities.

Upon arrival, you are provided 24 hour butler service. We had brought some wine and refreshments, so our butler brought us glasses for us and our friends, ice and other things we would need to entertain.

When a drunk woman spilled red wine on my Prada organza blouse, our butler came to our room at 1:am to take the blouse. I awoke later that morning to find it clean and stain free hanging in my closet.

A fleet of Luxury cars were at our disposal for transportation. When our friends were stranded nearby without a ride, we were able to call our driver to help get them back to their own hotel.

The old beach club, the old bars and every inch of this space was respelendent with history and luxury. We will never forget the magical weekend we spent here.

Room Tip: I love the original hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beccakristfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for being recent guests at The Cloister. I am pleased you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay. We pride ourselves on our gracious hospitality and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent 3 1/2 days at The Cloisters and enjoyed it all. The beach is beautiful with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The 3 pools are lovely, including a "concierge like" setting at the adult only pool. Our room, overlooking the river was beautifully furnished, had a lovely balcony, and was extremely comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We rented bikes at the beach club and enjoyed a scenic ride. We visited friends at the condos and when we asked directions, we were immediately offered a golf cart ride right to their door.

A few negatives: because there was a large convention there, dinner reservations and spa reservations were very difficult to get. The resort felt somewhat crowded as breakfast buffets, cocktail receptions, etc were set up all over the hotel. Also, the beach restaurant was not up to 5 star standard. The food was good, but served in "to go" containers, not plates with our plastic silverware and napkins in pre wrapped plastic and our condiments in little packages like McDonalds. Fine for eating on the beach, but not at sit down tables. Disappointing. The wait staff was very friendly, but the staff that served the actual meal had no idea who or what they were serving and wandered around the tables looking for what meal went where. Not what we expected.

What left a very bitter taste in our mouths occurred at the breakfast buffet. We both ordered juice and I ordered coffee, my husband tea. When the bill came, we were charged for the tea! When we inquired, we were told juice and coffee included but tea was extra! What? Honestly, that's ridiculous. Not everyone drinks coffee and to be charged $3.00 for a tea bag seemed absurd.

However, that all being said, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Cloisters and would revisit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. It's wonderful to have that outdoor space to relax in! And the river view is quite lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Sea Island! I sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your stay. We strive on offering our guests an experience rich in service and apologize for the reservation and dining issues you experienced. I would welcome the opportunity to assist you with a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Cloister for 3 nights. I can't say enough about our wonderful experience. The room was spacious, the staff very helpful & friendly, the activities fun & the food was excellent. We plan on making a trip annually & bringing the family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We attended a family wedding event weekend - our first visit and won't be our last! We very comfortably slept a family of five in room 515 at the Beach Club. With a private garden terrace and a gate that provided easy access to the pool and beach areas it was great for the family. The room had 2 Queen beds in the bedroom (my son and daughter didn't want to share a bed but a roll away fit nicely in this spacious room - so the younger one had his one bed too!) The pullout in the living room was comfortable and nice - gave grandpa his own bed and bathroom space at night. The dining was out of this world and they easily provided some of the best gluten free options I have ever had - way to go Chefs at Southern Tide, Riveroom and Travola! Amazing !

Room Tip: rooms are large, if you have kids consider a room at the Beach Club. our room did have a good bit of pool traffice going by the gate to our courtyard, so if you want more privacy - consider a room on second floor (but that will limit your ease of access back and forth to pool for snacks or rest times.)
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shoreviewmntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at Sea Island and taking the time to share your experience. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Top of the line! We held a small conference and were catered to in every way. Excellent meal planning, service and accommodations. We have been doing this for several years and plan to continue. I would request a coffee pot for the room. It's large and there is no extra fee, beats ordering room service. Slippers by the bed, chocolate on the pillow... feels like royalty.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews