We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cloister at Sea Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cloister at Sea Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

World class service. Everyone of the staff is the best. They can't do enough for you. The rooms are spectacular. The food is great. The setting is fantastic. The ocean, fishing, golf, it is ALL here for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    90
    31
    19
    19
See reviews for
260
259
10
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our second visit to Sea Island, Georgia. The Room we had the first time was wonderful and we requested it again however it was full so they had to put us in another suite. We were really worried that the accommodations would not be as good as they were on our previous visit. They actually were amazingly better. We had a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean and an area where we could eat outside. I spent most of my days sitting on a lovely lounger overlooking the ocean while my children and enjoyed the wonderful Camp Cloister. We enjoyed kayaking shell train,swimming and everything the resort had to offer. Lights need to be fixed on balconies so you can enjoy dinner outside. It's so lovely at night. The only issue we had was with one of the employees that handles booking the boating, fishing and kayaking trips. We wanted to do something on a Sunday and she very rudely reminded us that it was not possible since "everyone deserves a day off!" Sadly she was the same woman who was rude to my daughter on on first trip which caused us to really call her to book another kayaking trip with trepidation. The naturalist and staff who take everyone out, however are amazing!! It's a shame that the woman who handles the booking is so miserable. We have to mention some wonderful staff. Yvette at Southern Tides was wonderful and accommodating. Dusty who runs the kids club is great, Gavin who does the kayaking trips is super! In fact, it is really hard to find anyone at Sea Island who isn't just fantastic. Thank you for another wonderful family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirwpgops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been coming to The Cloister for 27 years and were quite anxious when this family-owned resort was sold three years ago. It's different now--gone are some of the traditions we loved, but in many ways it's better. The new management has revitalized this world-class resort while retaining several of the qualities that made it exceptional. If you haven't been you're missing out on a timeless resort of Southern gentility, impeccable service, stunning rooms, grounds and architecture. When you enter through the gates of this private island, you're transported back in time where the pace was a little slower, people were a little more polite and the simple things were appreciated. My sons grew up learning to dance at Bingo with the lovely junior staffers. This has served them well! It used to be you had to dress for dinner, but now there are options to don a jacket or dine in a polo and shorts.

The spa is the most beautiful I've ever seen--you could spend an entire week there and not run out of things to do. Our family can't fit in all the activities The Cloister provides but some of our favorites are shooting skeet and trap, riding bikes all over the island, kayaking on the ocean, fishing off the dock and taking walks on the beach at night looking for ghost crabs and sea turtles.

With all this our favorite part of each visit is the responsiveness of the staff. From the moment you pull up in your car you're greeted, by name, like long-lost family members. They know us and remember our preferences, going above and beyond to accomodate us. Chefs come out to our table to ask if we have a special request and make it. And it's not just because we've been going for a long time; new guests are quickly adopted, too!

I've traveled a bit and have been fortunate to stay at nice hotels and resorts, but there is no one place that captures all The Cloister has to offer. It's the total package and not to be missed. Magical!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more old-world with dark wood and oriental rugs; choose one facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sellsocialmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
While it’s always good to read a comment from a guest, it is especially wonderful to read one from someone whose family knows us well and has enjoyed Sea Island so much over the years. Thank you very much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Where to start....the grounds are beautiful, staff are great, restaurants were delicious ( check out the wine list in The Georgian Room), plenty of children's activities ( even if one does not want to leave their kids in camp all day), water activities aplenty, pools, golf and spa and huge rooms!!. Everything we did was remarkable. The golf courses were immaculate, spa was very relaxing, paddle boarding and kayaking in the ocean lead to many dolphin sightings, sunsets were beautiful, especially when having a cocktail at one of the many ocean/ beachfront restaurants and bars.

We will definately return!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Audi_yes_BMW_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. You seem to have experienced much of what Sea Island has to offer. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything so much and look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My favorite aspect of The Cloister were the accommodations. Standard rooms are more like suites with room to sprawl, high ceilings, enormous and well appointed, luxury baths, wonderful patio with serene views, and much appreciated quiet and privacy. Their beds are some of the most comfortable I've slept in with fabulous linens. Of course, the buildings and grounds are exquisite and the staff gracious, warm and always helpful. The food was good, but our waiters at Southern Tide seemed rushed and not as attentive. My boys especially loved the fishing, shooting and golf, and the turtle trek was a fun and worthwhile activity. After visiting the Lodge one evening, I thought I'd like to return there with my husband. Unfortunately, the Atlantic was muddy while we were there, likely due to the frequent storms they've been having. Beach was crowded even mid to later August and beach service was spotty. Overall, we enjoyed the plush resort very much and my boys were not ready to leave!

Room Tip: We loved the serenity and high ceilings of our top floor river view room away from the more crowded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dosmadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from a phenomenal stay in the Beach Club Suites as the Cloister. This place does everything right. In addition to the beautiful setting, the property and all of the facilities are spotless. The staff could not be friendlier or more accommodating. What a great value for the cost! We traveled with our children, ages 14, 12 and 8, and another family with children of similar ages. Both children and adults were equally impressed. We have stayed at many upscale resorts including, most recently, the Ritz Reserve at Dorado Beach and the Elbow Beach Resort (run by the Mandarin chain). The General Managers of those resorts, which charge three and four times as much, could learn many things from Mr. Riess and his wonderful staff at this well-managed, spectacular spot. Things not to miss on the resort: Bingo, the spa, a beach horseback ride, shooting (we did a private lessons), bagpipes at s'mores at the gorgeous Lodge and jeep train shelling. Things that were not quite up to the "extraordinary" standards set by the other activities: archery, "private yacht" and most of the resort restaurants (with the exception of the Georgian Room, which we skipped). Things to do off resort: visit lovely St. Simons. Take a dolphin boat tour, eat almost anywhere! We had excellent meals at Haylards, Bernie's Red Barn, Blackwater Grill, and Southern Soul (do NOT miss this place). We also arranged to have a goft cart delivered to the resort for our use. High Tide Cart Rentals in St. Simons. Top to bottom, a must-visit family resort. We will return and recommend highly to all.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, the beach club suites are the place to stay. The rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmm321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

All of the positive reviews are right on -- this resort is spectacular. Here are some additional trip tips:

Visit The Lodge (part of the Cloister property but 6 miles away from main hotel). Absolutely beautiful setting. Oak Room for dinner, drinks on golf course, bagpiper playing at sunset, s'mores for kids every night. A must do -- just beautiful.

Visit the neighboring town St Simons for activities, bar/restaurants and to get a local feel -- cute town, trolley tours, dolphin boat tours, very good bars/restaurants.

The Spa is fantastic.

Archery for kids was not too impressive.

Shooting school was one I the highlights of trip -- we did clay pidgeon shooting (with kids) and it was great -- adults and kids alike loved it -- a lot of fun.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
3.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
9.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.4 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Inn at Sea Island
The Inn at Sea Island
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Property: The Cloister at Sea Island
Address: 100 Cloister Dr, Sea Island, GA 31561-9705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cloister at Sea Island 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing