We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cloister at Sea Island
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Sea Island(Saint Simons Island)
$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus St. Simons(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$136
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Lodge(Saint Simons Island)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Inn and Suites(Saint Simons Island)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
942 results
Traveler rating
731
119
43
24
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
119
43
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian roombeach clubsouthern tidemain buildingadult poolfive star resortriver barshooting schoolfitness centerfour seasonshorseback ridingsouthern charmriver viewturn down servicecolt alisonold worldone bedroom suite
Filter
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 942 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Losing your five star rating can be traumatic; gaining it back after ten years is a joy. The Cloister has theirs back - but the service is not quite to the old level. Front office and concierge is getting there but needs to step it up. Uniforms need to be crisper and information has to be better. When we asked about information on St. Simon's Island & Jekyl Island the conceirge was lost. We were told by reception that the Colt & Alison restuarant couldn't accomodate us at 7 PM and we needed to take a 7:15 reservation. When we get to the restaurant we were the 4th table in the restaurant. Why couldn't they take us at 7? The next night both high end restaurants were closed (way to go five star) and we were told that Tavola couldn't accomodate us until 5:30 the next day. When I protested they admitted that they couldn't see the restaurant's reservations and they would call us back when the restaurant actually opened. Although we had a vey nice dinner at Tavola, communication must be better to create a five star environment.

Bell services & housekeeping were outstanding! Breakfast in the Georgian room was very special, wish we could have had dinner.

This review may seem nitpicky, however if you want to be five star you have to earn it. The Cloister is almost there and is going in the right direction. Improve the communication and service at the front of the house and you will move from 4.5 to 5 Stars!

Room Tip: Rooms at the beach club are excellent. Spacious and great vews
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thunder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Sea Island. I will follow up with the appropriate leaders with the issues you have noted and will be certain to have them corrected. We are extremely proud of our history and the tradition of hospitality Sea Island has and work very hard to honor those traditions. We certainly appreciate your comments and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sea Island very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a historic and magical hotel. It's truly a once in a lifetime experience at this hotel. You truly feel like royalty. Sitting near the pit, goin gto the spa, even driving around the property everything is pristine and beautiful. Definetely can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Any room is great, I did recieve a tour of them all.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We celebrated our 24th wedding anniverary at the Cloister last weekend and had a wonderful time in spite of the cold weather. The spa with the fireplace was just what we needed. The ocean villas were big enough to have a party in, unbelievable. We had dinner at the Colt and Alison which was spectacular and then enjoyed the live music in the lobby. I highly recommend the Cloister for a relaxing getaway. Staff were very personable and helpful.

Room Tip: The ocean villas are awesome; you will have a better view on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. We could not have chosen a better location! The property itself was simply beautiful. The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and eager to please. When we arrived, we had a lovely welcome basket of fruit in our suite. We also had two personalized notes that congratulated us on our anniversary and welcomed us to the property. The photographer on staff was also a lovely touch. She took excellent photographs that we definitely plan to purchase. While there, we also visited the spa. The facility was simply beautiful and the total spa experience was 5-star. The staff was so pleasant and went out of their way to ensure that guests were pampered.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. Room number 1 was a suite with a riverview. It was spacious and beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodneyG757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just one overnight stay convinced me that I needed to return here. The rooms and views were outstanding. The bathrooms offered every comfort and amenity. The staff went the extra mile to assist including the front door staff member who gave me the choice between a chilled or room temp bottle of water for my trip home and offered directions. Paola, the chef in the Tavola ristorante makes the finest brick oven pizzas I have ever had, with the perfect crust and toppings.
I thought I might be underdressed for dinner but the Tavola bar and restaurant was warm, casual and very welcoming. I see why corporate groups love this place, with shooting, fishing, and cozy meeting and breakout spaces. No need to leave the facility, really, and why would you want to...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraSVirginia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews