We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloister at Sea Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cloister at Sea Island to your Saves list
The Cloister at Sea Island
100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Best Avail Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Another World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just returned from an enchanting stay at the Cloister. Had a third floor room overlooking the marsh, thick walls made sleeping a dream (pardon the pun), little touches throughout the room such as vanity seats in the bathroom, double bathroom doors for privacy, a cigar room to die for in the main hotel. Food was outstanding as was the service. Breakfast was limited to the formal dining room which was one of the few downsides. Spa for both women and men was five star as were the grounds. We will be annual visitors to the Cloister.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the main lobby as possible, otherwise you will be in for a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vintage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    76
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
228
219
10
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Amazing, luxurious rooms that are large, well designed and filled with beautiful furniture. The staff are friendly, professional and very competent. Some have been at Sea Island for many years. But the food and beach club are not up to the standards of the property and the people. But our sense was that the people who go there regularly think it's so great but it really isn't.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jkpetalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your observations as they are invaluable in helping us improve the experience for our guests. I will follow up personally on your comments to ensure they are addressed. I do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you. If I can be of any assistance personally on your next stay please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westboro
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our second time here. Spent 3 days on our travels down south.
The Good: The Ocean view suite at the beach club was stunning! Spacious and beautifully appointed with a gas fireplace and magnificent view. 2 bathrooms and small but efficient kitchen.
Truly, this is where The Cloisters excel! Great Fitness Center and stunning spa. The property and amenities are all top drawer and very well taken care of.
The Bad: In my opinion the food is just not up to the heights the rest of the resort is. Found this on our first visit and the situation has not been improved. Disappointing! In a property as wonderful as The Cloisters, the food should be a lot more than glorified country club fare.
It is a major missing link. The other issue , though small in comparison, is the $20 charge to use the fitness facility. Really, at $600 a night for our room, this charge seems petty and unnecessary.
Have stayed at many high end resorts, ie. Four Seasons, Peninsula etc. and none of them charge to use the Fitness Centers.
Again, this is where I feel The Cloisters is a Country Club first that welcomes outsiders in but nickels and dimes them for the privilege while reminding them during breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your observations as they are invaluable in helping us improve the experience for our guests. I will follow up personally on your comments to ensure they are addressed. I do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you. If I can be of any assistance personally on your next stay please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The new Cloister may not be quite what the old was, but times have changed and it is still a lovely and elegant resort. The lobby and public rooms are gorgeous and the guest rooms very spacious and well decorated. Staff was friendly enough but service and food at Tavola and at breakfast left a lot to be desired. These issues need to be addressed before this becomes a five star resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your observations as they are invaluable in helping us improve the experience for our guests. I will follow up personally on your comments to ensure they are addressed. I do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you. If I can be of any assistance personally on your next stay please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Actually we stayed at the Cloister's Cottages, which is very close to the Cloister's Hotel. Actually everything is close together. The unit we had was fantastic. - four bedrooms (2 master's), five bathrooms, outdoor enclosed patio, heated pool, four fireplaces, kitchen with every possible appliance (all top of the line), about 3,500 square feet. Plus their was daily maid service, gardener and pool cleaner. Also the beds were extremely comfortable. Despite having four couples, we had plenty of space. We didn't want to leave and we will be back.
Everything on the island is convenient - grocery stores, restaurants and golf courses. The golf courses were excellent. We had caddies every day, which was a real treat.
The entire trip was first class!

Room Tip: Get a caddy! We had dinner one night at the Jekyll Club. It was too far away - about 45 minutes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedevil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We would come back anytime! What a great place to stay and the ambiance was well worth it. We ate at Tavola restaurant and enjoyed our wine and meal! The dessert was the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zankojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I spent two days her in early January. Our reception was very cordial, and not the least bid stuffy. We had drinks and dinner at the Lodge. We sat in front of the fireplace in the lobby while we waited for our table. The atmosphere of the Lodge is heavy dark paneling, beautiful artwork and just an overall inviting surroundings. The menu was varied, but not too elaborate or fussy. The quality and appearance of the appitizers and dinner was five star. Along with it, the service was superlative. Prices were high, but very much in keeping with quality and quantity of what was served. The also had an excellent wine list.

The hotel rooms were architecturally beautiful, spacious, well appointed, and extremely clean. We had a balcony overlooking the lagoon, which was very picturesque. We dined in the River Room and had the best Red Fish that I have had in ages. The preparation, quality and service of the restaurant we also superlative.

We did not use the Spa, nor the Fitness Center, however we did play golf on the Seaside Course which was very enjoyable. Greens were fast, fairways in nice shape, but stay out of the rough as it is Bermuda grass and it is a challenge.

Overall, the hotel was five star. Hotel architecture, ambiance, quality of food and service is the best we have ever experienced. We cannot priaise this establishment enough.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailor6700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
3.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
9.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Property: The Cloister at Sea Island
Address: 100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing