We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloister resort Sea Island attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cloister at Sea Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Cloisters Resort on Sea Island is a very nice, upscale resort good for relaxing on the beach and several good golf courses nearby. Our four bedroom house from Exclusive Resorts was very well appointed, as usual, and close to the resort facilities. Of the three nearby courses, Seaside at Sea Island was by far the best and most challenging. At sunset they have a bag pipe ceremony which is worth waiting for with an after round cocktail.

We rented bikes for the week and used them to tour both Sea Island and Saint Simon. Biking on Sea Island was fun viewing all the beautiful homes in a very relaxed way. Biking on St. Simon required getting across the causeway but now that they've put in a bike trail it's pretty easy. Once on St. Simon head to Fort Frederica. It was a nice ride and the Fort was very interesting.

Golf at King and Prince was not so great. Course was only OK and club rental was a joke, 11 clubs and five different brands. I brought this up at the turn and the reaction was, "check in the cart barn"

Room Tip: Stayed at Exclusive Resort house so can't rate resort rooms. The houses are well designed and b...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyW309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for The Cloister at Sea Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 859 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wonderful and stately resort with southern charm. Everyone knows your name moments after your arrival. Our room overlooking the river was lovely and spacious. Service everywhere was excellent and attentive without being overbearing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We chose this property for our anniversary because we've heard good things about it and it's fairly close to home. The grounds are lovely, the service is decent, and the rooms are great (if a bit musty). My only real complaint is that the room service and River Bar food was subpar. Also, see my review on Travolta. Not good. I wouldn't stay here again only because for the money there are places that will blow your socks off. Palmetto Bluff is one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vivi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was just at The Cloisters in Sea Island Georgia. I had a wonderful experience. The staff is so warm and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The Spa is one of the most beautiful spas I have ever seen. I could live in the couples room! They were just finishing the Christmas Trees and the decorations...The trees could compete with Rockefeller Center. They were beautiful and enormous!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Interestingly enough, I've wanted to go to the Cloister in the mid 1980's after reading Anne Rivers Siddens's book, "Downtown". The main character was from Savannah and moved to Atlanta in the 1960's. She fell in love with the young "blue blood" whose family summered at the Cloister. Obviously, there was a twist in the ending but needless to say, I was enthralled with visiting Sea Island after falling in love with Ms. Siddens and the south. Well..it took almost 30 years but I finally made it in time to celebrate my 49th birthday. I understand the former hotel was razed in the mid 2000's but the new hotel still has the integrity of a 1920's Spanish Mediterranean hotel. Coming from California and now recently settled into South Carolina, I plan on coming back to this beautiful resort year after year.

Room Tip: If you love beautiful decor, I suggest staying in the main hotel and not the Beach Club. It was stu...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am a little disappointed this is only a 5 star resort. It sure seemed like a 10 star resort! The folks at Sea Island pay attention to every little detail.

At first glance the prices seem high, but the reality is the hotel and staff go out of their way to accommodate all aspects of the trip. While I dont normally stay in a place such as this, I was truly overwhelmed at the level of service and attention I received.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I visited The Cloister at Sea Island to rest after a recent family wedding. It was wonderful. He played both the Seaside and the Plantation courses and loved both of them. The food was excellent; our favorite restaurant was Colt & Allison at The Lodge. I spent a day at the Spa, which was one of the best I have ever visited. Try the "Botanical Grommage" treatment and massage...perfect! The rooms are large and completely appointed with soft, good quality linens and towels. The staff is excellent; very accommodating and helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat, both on and off property.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ndlptmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
3.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
9.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,225 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
122 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Dr, Sea Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range: $398 - $760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cloister at Sea Island 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing