We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nothing too special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloister at Sea Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cloister at Sea Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonvile, Fl
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nothing too special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We chose this property for our anniversary because we've heard good things about it and it's fairly close to home. The grounds are lovely, the service is decent, and the rooms are great (if a bit musty). My only real complaint is that the room service and River Bar food was subpar. Also, see my review on Travolta. Not good. I wouldn't stay here again only because for the money there are places that will blow your socks off. Palmetto Bluff is one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vivi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    76
    27
    15
    18
See reviews for
230
223
10
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was just at The Cloisters in Sea Island Georgia. I had a wonderful experience. The staff is so warm and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The Spa is one of the most beautiful spas I have ever seen. I could live in the couples room! They were just finishing the Christmas Trees and the decorations...The trees could compete with Rockefeller Center. They were beautiful and enormous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Interestingly enough, I've wanted to go to the Cloister in the mid 1980's after reading Anne Rivers Siddens's book, "Downtown". The main character was from Savannah and moved to Atlanta in the 1960's. She fell in love with the young "blue blood" whose family summered at the Cloister. Obviously, there was a twist in the ending but needless to say, I was enthralled with visiting Sea Island after falling in love with Ms. Siddens and the south. Well..it took almost 30 years but I finally made it in time to celebrate my 49th birthday. I understand the former hotel was razed in the mid 2000's but the new hotel still has the integrity of a 1920's Spanish Mediterranean hotel. Coming from California and now recently settled into South Carolina, I plan on coming back to this beautiful resort year after year.

Room Tip: If you love beautiful decor, I suggest staying in the main hotel and not the Beach Club. It was stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am a little disappointed this is only a 5 star resort. It sure seemed like a 10 star resort! The folks at Sea Island pay attention to every little detail.

At first glance the prices seem high, but the reality is the hotel and staff go out of their way to accommodate all aspects of the trip. While I dont normally stay in a place such as this, I was truly overwhelmed at the level of service and attention I received.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I visited The Cloister at Sea Island to rest after a recent family wedding. It was wonderful. He played both the Seaside and the Plantation courses and loved both of them. The food was excellent; our favorite restaurant was Colt & Allison at The Lodge. I spent a day at the Spa, which was one of the best I have ever visited. Try the "Botanical Grommage" treatment and massage...perfect! The rooms are large and completely appointed with soft, good quality linens and towels. The staff is excellent; very accommodating and helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat, both on and off property.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ndlptmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I am at least a 6th or 7th generation Georgian, and I spent my honeymoon here before the renovations of the 2000's, so I admit to some bias, but The Cloister is simply the best. I have had the pleasure of experiencing many luxury resorts in th Western Hemisphere and many Ritz Carlton and JW Marriott properties and can still say none of them have equaled the service, quality and experience offered at The Cloister, much less the history. The Cloister, the Beach Club and The Lodge are our standby favorite places. We just celebrated our 15th anniversary there. The Colt & Alison at the Lodge is our favorite restaurant there and the Beach Club bar at Southern Tide can't be beat for an afternoon of watching college football. The views of salt marshes sooth our souls each visit and remind us of young love, new lives beginning, and looking forward to the future at a backdrop representative of our deep Georgia roots. Sea Island is heaven on earth.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mwright124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I just returned from a 2 night stay at The Cloister with my husband. Words cannot describe how perfectly wonderful our stay was at this property that "took our breath away". The rooms were stunning with great views and ambience. The staff was friendly and helpful. You must visit The Georgian Room for a dining experience you will not forget. Also, visit The River Bar for a wonderful lunch with great water views.

The Cloister is a luxury travel experience filled with wonderful southern charm that is perfect for couples or a family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaGirls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
3.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
9.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Property: The Cloister at Sea Island
Address: 100 Cloister Dr, Sea Island, GA 31561-9705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing