We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class everything in this historic resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cloister at Sea Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This entire island and resort is first class and one of the best resorts in the country - if not the world. Gorgeous, historic property on the Atlantic Ocean with great rooms, even better suites, and unmatched service. Old photos in the common areas show visits by past U.S. presidents, famous foreign dignitaries, and other noteworthy people from the past 80 years. A walk around the property will show plaques denoting trees planted by some of those dignitaries (Margaret Thatcher, Jimmy Carter, George Bush, etc.). Pack your best credit card and a seer sucker suit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillVenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 899 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Came here to celebrate our anniversary and to attend my husband's high school reunion and we loved it! The staff was extremely attentive. In fact, after we left The Cloister, I realized I did not get a photo of the wait staff and Chef at the Georgian Room. I sent an email requesting a photo and received one back the same day!!!

The Georgian Room is not to be missed. If we ever come back, I would ask to be seated at the Chef's Table. I did not know this was available or I would have requested it. We selected the Chef's Tasting menu and it was so delicious! There were also some amazing desserts, but our selection came with dessert. Our waiter mentioned to us before we ordered that we should select our dessert early as they are all prepared to order. I thought the pecan pie sounded so good so he suggested a pre-dessert. What fun! Ice Cream prepared table side with liquid nitrogen. It was amazing!

Our room was beautifully appointed and met every expectation. I was able to take beautiful images of the sunrise from the balcony. The room was so quiet. All the amenities were top notch and the housekeeping staff went above and beyond. My husband even got his shoes shined. You place them in a basket outside the door and later they are returned in the basket, wrapped in beautiful gold paper with a lovely sticky label to keep it all together, like a present. Charming!

If we could, I would go back once a year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsjpvan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Here for the McGladrey Classic (PGA). Hotel is worthy of every star. Staff is attentive without being "too close". The sleeping rooms are spacious and well appointed. Common areas are spectacular.

You need to experience this place with someone special.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed The McGladrey Classic and hope to see you at Sea Island again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Accommendations were first class..rooms were very large, well lite, balcony, the bedrooms and shower area was first class.. Friendly service. The only negative was the 20% surcharge automatically added to any and all purchases plus room and additional taxes..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The accommodations were unbelieveable. I could have lived in our room for a month and never felt crowded. The bathroom alone was worth every penny. The grounds were lush and comfortable. Everyone was attuned to our needs. The Beach Club facility was simply amazing. We were able to sit by the pool, beach or on the lawn and relax. We had dinner at The Lodge in the Oak Room Bar. The steak salad was perfect.
We will most definitely be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We were in the North Wing on the river with a marsh view. It was perfect for sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Bill Jones, the owner of the Sea Island Co. made a big mistake tearing down the old Cloister buildings and went bankrupt in the process. They say "he chased away the millionaires in search of the billionaires, but the billionaires did not come." If you have 400 to 800 to spend on a room at a resort, go somewhere where the beaches are snow white, the water aqua blue, and they don't have sand gnats.
This place is highly over rated ever since they privatized after they had the G-8 conference here.
They used to be the best thing in town back in the 70's 80's and early 90's when they know what they were. Now it is just a large uncaring institution owned by an out of town corporation, generic at best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Cloister on Sea Island, Georgia is a hidden gem! The resort is absolutely gorgeous, an upscale property which is conveniently located between Savannah, Georgia and Jacksonville, Florida. My husband and I as well as our son and his family all stayed at The Beach Club which is very kid friendly. Our 2 year old granddaughter had a blast and so did we. There are many activities for children of all ages and children are welcome in all the restaurants. My husband and I did not eat in the 5 star Georgian Room but the food in the other restaurants was fabulous.
There's 5 miles of beautiful ocean beach, a wading pool, other pools and an adult pool. The rooms are gorgeous and the service is impeccable. Words cannot describe our amazing experience. It was our best vacation ever and we can't wait to return to Sea Island!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epangb8534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
9.4 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,283 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
165 reviews
9.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Brunswick I-95, GA
3.4 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Dr, Sea Island, GA 31522-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range: $456 - $844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cloister at Sea Island 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forbes Five-Star resort on the Georgia coast which offers five miles of private beach, fishing, three golf courses, kayaking, horseback riding, sailing, Forbes Five-Star spa, tennis and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing