We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're at grandma's house!”
Review of Stovall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stovall House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I love the atmosphere of the Stovall house it really does remind me of my grandmother's house. I am not a "mountains" person so I don't enjoy staying in a cabin and looking at nothing but trees for days but this b&b is the best of both worlds- country and mountains.

Lloyd is a fantastic inn keeper. He works hard to be accommodating which so many B&B owners miss the mark on. Check in time- whenever, check out time- when you get ready...
Breakfast is GREAT and Lloyd will allow you to eat it in your room on YOUR time. It always sours my experience to go to a place where you are supposed to relax and they make you report in for breakfast at 9am as if you are reporting for duty.

Three of our co-workers filled up the other rooms and all seemed very pleased with their stay and said they would come back as well. At $125/night you can't beat it.

The house is so comfortable and the features so unique. Yes it could use some updating in areas and you may find a spider web but it is REAL and special- thanks to it's owner. To be honest, I don't even really like Helen, GA but I would come back just to hang with Lloyd.

Room Tip: We had the first king room at the top of the stairs to the left- highly recommend. If you are a TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kksg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lloyd and his family share the wonderful history of the Sautee Nacoochee area as well as North Georgia while you stay in this historical home. The home itself needs a bit of renovation, but don't let the facade detract from the warm hospitality you will receive during your stay. Cooked to order breakfasts, conversation in the family room and time to roam the outdoors with incredible views of the mountains. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The home needs some paint and fixing up a bit, but still very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wine and Travel Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This trip was very unexpected which means not planned at all!! Everything was booked and we were desparate for a place to stay because we had a 4 year old that was ready for bed. We called every where and my GPS located this place. We called, Lloyd had a room, the rate was way less than we were expecting to pay and Lloyd even had a roll away bed for us to use at no extra charge so we didn't end up sleeping 4 people to 1 bed. We immediately fell in love with the room! We were not sure of our plans to stay for the next day or not, but Lloyd told us not to worry, the room was available if we wanted and to sleep in because he didn't require a check out time. He was so kind and truly accomodating to his visitors. The next morning we were served a wonderful breakfast made exactly how we ordered and enjoyed it on the beautiful porch. The house and scenary are beautiful by far, but the service that Lloyd provides is one in a million. The favorite part of our getaway was our Stovall House experience! We will return at least once a year from here on. Thank you Lloyd for treating us as if we were your own family! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful! The king size bed in our room slept wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bendi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed there for one night when we were in Sautee-Nacoochee to see the last production of Headwaters, a fantastic community play. Lloyd is the ultimate host, and we were delighted to meet his parents. What an interesting and fun group of people! We were talking on the way back to Atlanta about how, most of the time, we aren't big on getting chatty with the B&B hosts, but that was so not the case here. The house is fantastic! And the porch, where we spent a few hours drinking wine post-play, is just amazing. We made plans to return in September when Francine Reed plays in S-N. Great town, great people, great accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlantajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My fiance and I first visited The Stovall House Inn a few weeks ago and fell in love. We knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that we would have our wedding here. The owner, Lloyd and Johnna were so welcoming and friendly. The Inn is charming and quaint with a fantastic view of rolling hills and Yonah Mountain. Last weekend we decided to spend the night at the Inn and found that Lloyd is a great cook and we were greeted with a pretty bouquet of hydrangeas that were picked from the garden. We are looking forward to our wedding here in November and highly recommend The Stovall House Inn for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Convenient to Helen and local wineries. All the rooms get nice light and 3 of the 4 rooms have king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stovall House provided exactly the true get away I was looking for. A great place for a small group of friends or family. Breakfast served on a small sun porch looking over the prime birdwatching spot. Lloyd is a great cook. Coarse ground grits from the local mill.. Jana is an organic gardener and fresh whole foods are a priority. Daughter Mary loves vintage linens etc.
From the moment we arrived I knew I did not want to leave. We only left the first day to go down the road to the Nacoochee Village Tavern for dinner and spent the entire next day relaxing on the lawn under the shade trees. This would be a good place for a writer's retreat. I have been A B and B traveler for 25 years and this was truly my favorite stay. Like the trip to your family home place we all wish we had.

Room Tip: The only reason I gave cleanliness an "average" is that a 150+ year old house just can not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 5anan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was a discovery! We traveled this time with no itinerary ... just looking to enjoy northeastern Georgia. What a surprise to find Lloyd and his daughter and Lloyd, Sr. and 'mom' there to greet us. Under new ownership, Lloyd knows A+ hospitality. Resting, reading, hiking, exploring ... the days here were renewing for the spirit. Breakfasts were the best. Thank you for this special visit. If walking the Appalatian Trail or tubing or rafting were your interests, the area offers it all, too. Two miles down the road there is Sweetwater Coffee House and a Rotary club meeting Wednesday mornings at Nacoochee Guest House!

Room Tip: Lynch Mountain view is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sautee Nacoochee
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
54 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn Alpine Helen
3.6 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovall House

Address: 1526 Highway 255 N, Sautee Nacoochee, GA 30571-2517
Location: United States > Georgia > Sautee Nacoochee
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sautee Nacoochee
Price Range: $147 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stovall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Stovall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovall House Hotel Sautee Nacoochee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing