We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$340
Hotels.com$283
Priceline$340
eDreams$340
CheapTickets$283
Travelocity$283
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveler rating
575
209
64
32
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
575
209
64
32
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake brienz giessbach falls third floor stunning views amazing place breakfast buffet old style enjoy the view half board steam train historic hotel main course hiking trails forest view bygone era pool table dining experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 917 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2019

I could not get over this hotel. The views are insane - make sure you're here for sunset so you can take in the beauty of the lake at twilight. Hiking trails are right nearby, so you can walk up to the waterfall, or just enjoy the view from afar while sipping a glass of wine at dinner. The buffet breakfast included a ton of options, and the food was delicious. The hotel itself preserves the gilded age perfectly - you feel comfortable with modern amenities, while really soaking in the history of the hotel. Highly recommend stopping here for a meal or a drink, if not staying for a few days.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GoneExpLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Stayed here in the summer and loved exploring the grounds, waterfall, hikes, views. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Ate dinner at lower restaurant and food was incredible! Also ate lunch at patio restaurant and food was fine.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank cnelson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019

We've now stayed here several times and once again can't really fault the hotel. The staff are lovely and the hotel full of charm and the food is amazing. It's a great place to relax, with some spectacular views or take a boat ride, better still go visit the James Bond retreat at the top of the mountain which isn't far away.!

Room tip: So far all the rooms we have had are great but ask for lake view 2nd floor!
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcC1253ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

We stopped off for lunch during a boat trip on Lake Brienz. We were seated on the upper terrace with a spectacular view of the lake. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Our waitress was charming and very helpful. One member of our party has celiac disease and every effort was made to accommodate her. She had the grilled hamburger patty with lovely potatoes. My entree was trout and it was delicious, served with the same lovely potatoes and spinach. The menu highlights for us were the mushroom cream soup and the creme brulee. We enjoyed looking around inside the old hotel and the funicular ride to get there was a special treat. We did not have time to hike up along the falls, but the younger two members of the party made a speedy dash down the hill in time to catch the next boat.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Whether you book a room with view to the lake of Brienz or to the Giessbach waterfalls both views are absolutely beautiful.

We booked a waterfall view room, which was small but nicely furnished. There are larger rooms with balcony too, but all taken. So early booking in this hotel is recommended. The view was stunning, the noise of the waterfall not disturbing at all (especially when the windows were closed).

The meals in the three restaurants of the hotel are excellent, however in the upper price range (not uncommon in Switzerland). Good service and lovely views.

The immediate sourroundings of the hotel are very scenic and invite for short or longer walks.

There is a natural pond, in which you can swim, nice but one has to get used to this.
The staff is friendly, very professional and very helpful with information about the many things to do in the area.

Room tip: Waterfall view rooms, ideally with balcony
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IwanWollerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews