We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveler rating
448
179
50
28
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
179
50
28
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand hotel lake brienz waterfall view giessbach falls amazing place third floor turquoise lake breakfast buffet three nights fantastic location boat ride cakes spectacular views old style course meal glass of wine spent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 733 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had a fantastic lunch on the patio of this awesome hotel. Food was fantastic and the views of the lake was out of this world.

There is a waterfall near to the hotel where you can hike and enjoy the fresh air!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SkipperZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A grand historical hotel located by the lake and waterfall. Large rooms with good views. Front desk staff were very helpful. Ordered room service but had to order at front desk as no one picked up the phone, apart from that, could not find any faults. Highly recommended if you want a quiet break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fantastically located hotel. Great views of the lake and waterfall. The breakfast room was the pick of the rooms for us although the bar for a late evening snort was comfortable too.

The place is a living time capsule coupled with good service and modern bathrooms

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gandegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Grandhotel Giessbach. After having celebrated our 10th anniversary at their Park Restaurant 5 years ago, my husband decided to surprise me with a stay there for our 15th anniversary.

It was PERFECT!!!!!!!! Everything from the breath-taking views (of the lake, Alps and waterfall) to the antique furniture, from the complimentary coffee bar to the gourmet restaurants classifies this hotel as an absolute gem!

The staff was extremely friendly, accommodating and attentive; after being made aware that we were celebrating an anniversary extra details were added to our make our dinner table as beautifully decorated as on a wedding day!

The hotel was built around 1875 - so don't expect an modern design hotel - but isn't lacking in modern comforts!

The location is great for hikes of different lengths and is the perfect starting point for outings in the Bernese Alps or in the areas of Brienz or Interlaken.

This place is an absolute MUST if you are in Switzerland!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in 119 - had a balcony and an excellent view!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristySPEAKUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you enjoy hiking, biking and nature this is the place to visit. I am in my early 50s and first visited Giessbach 30+ years ago. It is a timeless monument, beautifully maintained, with renovated rooms. Service is spectacular by the most attentive Swiss trained staff. Spent 3 nights in third floor room facing the cascade and slept with windows open to the constant peaceful water fall background noise. I would highly recommend making this historical monument part of your destination trips during your next visit to Europe or Switzerland. Nearby Interlaken offers a lot of sporty attractions including river rafting (I recommend Alpin Raft with excellent service / experience). Also worth mentioning is the eco friendly swimming pool (plants growing in the pool replace the need for chemicals).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of lake or cascade
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews