We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic, very quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grandhotel Giessbach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giessbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A too short weekend. The historical nature of the hotel excuses the absence of air-conditioning and the somewhat cheap aspect of the bathrooms. Apart from that, the rooms were beautiful, the one looking to the lake and the other to the cascades. We did not go to the "First Class" gastronomic restaurant but we found more than excellent the Cascades, supposed to be "Business Class". Quite helpful and smiling staff at front desk and restaurant. This was the first time the we slept at the Giessbach but we shall certainly pay another visit there, as we wish to spend more time in the marvellous surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 621 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had a fantastic lunch on the patio of this awesome hotel. Food was fantastic and the views of the lake was out of this world.

There is a waterfall near to the hotel where you can hike and enjoy the fresh air!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SkipperZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A grand historical hotel located by the lake and waterfall. Large rooms with good views. Front desk staff were very helpful. Ordered room service but had to order at front desk as no one picked up the phone, apart from that, could not find any faults. Highly recommended if you want a quiet break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fantastically located hotel. Great views of the lake and waterfall. The breakfast room was the pick of the rooms for us although the bar for a late evening snort was comfortable too.

The place is a living time capsule coupled with good service and modern bathrooms

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gandegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Grandhotel Giessbach. After having celebrated our 10th anniversary at their Park Restaurant 5 years ago, my husband decided to surprise me with a stay there for our 15th anniversary.

It was PERFECT!!!!!!!! Everything from the breath-taking views (of the lake, Alps and waterfall) to the antique furniture, from the complimentary coffee bar to the gourmet restaurants classifies this hotel as an absolute gem!

The staff was extremely friendly, accommodating and attentive; after being made aware that we were celebrating an anniversary extra details were added to our make our dinner table as beautifully decorated as on a wedding day!

The hotel was built around 1875 - so don't expect an modern design hotel - but isn't lacking in modern comforts!

The location is great for hikes of different lengths and is the perfect starting point for outings in the Bernese Alps or in the areas of Brienz or Interlaken.

This place is an absolute MUST if you are in Switzerland!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in 119 - had a balcony and an excellent view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristySPEAKUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you enjoy hiking, biking and nature this is the place to visit. I am in my early 50s and first visited Giessbach 30+ years ago. It is a timeless monument, beautifully maintained, with renovated rooms. Service is spectacular by the most attentive Swiss trained staff. Spent 3 nights in third floor room facing the cascade and slept with windows open to the constant peaceful water fall background noise. I would highly recommend making this historical monument part of your destination trips during your next visit to Europe or Switzerland. Nearby Interlaken offers a lot of sporty attractions including river rafting (I recommend Alpin Raft with excellent service / experience). Also worth mentioning is the eco friendly swimming pool (plants growing in the pool replace the need for chemicals).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of lake or cascade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It's hard to pick the most amazing thing about this hotel -- is it the fantastic vista of the crystal blue lake? The equally beautiful view of the mountains? The awesomely huge, gorgeous waterfall a mere 200 feet away? Or the hotel itself, a classy, lovely place with plenty of personality and ambience? Sadly, we only got to stay here one night, but luckily, that's all it took to find out it's all of the above.

Our room was nice and spacious, though we didn't have much of a view. Try and get a lakeside/waterfall view if possible.

The staff is friendly, and the restaurant has delicious food. They even gave us English menus although we didn't ask for them (all of the staff we encountered spoke fluent English, German & French, as per the norm in Switzerland). Although this place isn't cheap, it's certainly worth what you pay for the location and atmosphere. Be sure to check out the waterfall up close while you're there; it's a short walk from the hotel and absolutely worth the time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the lake and/or waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank one_bag_maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback!
As you mentioned there is a lot to discover in and around Giessbach.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took the opportunity to discover parts of the beautiful surroundings.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best regards
Matthias Koegl, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giessbach
1.6 mi away
Schonegg und Spycher
Schonegg und Spycher
#3 of 12 in Brienz
18 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
1,010 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lindenhof
Hotel Lindenhof
#2 of 12 in Brienz
81 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Du Lac
Hotel Chalet Du Lac
#1 of 3 in Iseltwald
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Brienzerburli And Lowen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Giessbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Giessbach

Address: Giessbach 1201 | 3855 Brienz, Giessbach, Brienz 3855, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Brienz > Giessbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giessbach
Price Range: $177 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Giessbach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome, dear guests - come in, enjoy the moment, and marvel at one of the most tremendous views in Europe. Be inspired by the charm of a true Grand Hotel and experience a sense of living history in one of the best preserved hotels of its time. From the moment you set foot in the Grandhotel Giessbach, you will find yourself in a world of unique splendour and elegant sophistication. It embodies the romance and charm of glorious bygone times. Today, just as it was one hundred years ago, the historical hotel residence, by the celebrated silvery Giessbach Falls, high above Lake Brienz, is quite simply a world of its own. Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows, with a breathtaking view of the unspoiled landscapes of Lake Brienz, this hidden oasis lies far away from everyday bustle and traffic. Relish the chance to unwind in this friendly and hospitable oasis, far away from everyday hustle and bustle. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grandhotel Giessbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Giessbach Hotel Brienz
Grandhotel Giessbach Swiss Alps

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing