We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grandhotel Giessbach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giessbach
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had a fantastic lunch on the patio of this awesome hotel. Food was fantastic and the views of the lake was out of this world.

There is a waterfall near to the hotel where you can hike and enjoy the fresh air!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipperZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    142
    37
    18
    18
See reviews for
108
310
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A grand historical hotel located by the lake and waterfall. Large rooms with good views. Front desk staff were very helpful. Ordered room service but had to order at front desk as no one picked up the phone, apart from that, could not find any faults. Highly recommended if you want a quiet break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Fantastically located hotel. Great views of the lake and waterfall. The breakfast room was the pick of the rooms for us although the bar for a late evening snort was comfortable too.

The place is a living time capsule coupled with good service and modern bathrooms

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gandegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Grandhotel Giessbach. After having celebrated our 10th anniversary at their Park Restaurant 5 years ago, my husband decided to surprise me with a stay there for our 15th anniversary.

It was PERFECT!!!!!!!! Everything from the breath-taking views (of the lake, Alps and waterfall) to the antique furniture, from the complimentary coffee bar to the gourmet restaurants classifies this hotel as an absolute gem!

The staff was extremely friendly, accommodating and attentive; after being made aware that we were celebrating an anniversary extra details were added to our make our dinner table as beautifully decorated as on a wedding day!

The hotel was built around 1875 - so don't expect an modern design hotel - but isn't lacking in modern comforts!

The location is great for hikes of different lengths and is the perfect starting point for outings in the Bernese Alps or in the areas of Brienz or Interlaken.

This place is an absolute MUST if you are in Switzerland!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in 119 - had a balcony and an excellent view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristySPEAKUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you enjoy hiking, biking and nature this is the place to visit. I am in my early 50s and first visited Giessbach 30+ years ago. It is a timeless monument, beautifully maintained, with renovated rooms. Service is spectacular by the most attentive Swiss trained staff. Spent 3 nights in third floor room facing the cascade and slept with windows open to the constant peaceful water fall background noise. I would highly recommend making this historical monument part of your destination trips during your next visit to Europe or Switzerland. Nearby Interlaken offers a lot of sporty attractions including river rafting (I recommend Alpin Raft with excellent service / experience). Also worth mentioning is the eco friendly swimming pool (plants growing in the pool replace the need for chemicals).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of lake or cascade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It's hard to pick the most amazing thing about this hotel -- is it the fantastic vista of the crystal blue lake? The equally beautiful view of the mountains? The awesomely huge, gorgeous waterfall a mere 200 feet away? Or the hotel itself, a classy, lovely place with plenty of personality and ambience? Sadly, we only got to stay here one night, but luckily, that's all it took to find out it's all of the above.

Our room was nice and spacious, though we didn't have much of a view. Try and get a lakeside/waterfall view if possible.

The staff is friendly, and the restaurant has delicious food. They even gave us English menus although we didn't ask for them (all of the staff we encountered spoke fluent English, German & French, as per the norm in Switzerland). Although this place isn't cheap, it's certainly worth what you pay for the location and atmosphere. Be sure to check out the waterfall up close while you're there; it's a short walk from the hotel and absolutely worth the time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the lake and/or waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank one_bag_maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grandhotel Giessbach, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback!
As you mentioned there is a lot to discover in and around Giessbach.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took the opportunity to discover parts of the beautiful surroundings.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best regards
Matthias Koegl, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nothing less than THE most beautiful place - especially if you like Vintage. Couldn't have asked for anything better as the place has become very memorable for the entire Swiss trip. The picturesque is very nice with excellent service

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSekuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giessbach
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lindenhof
Hotel Lindenhof
#2 of 12 in Brienz
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Brienzerburli And Lowen
7.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
673 reviews
9.9 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Giessbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Giessbach

Property: Grandhotel Giessbach
Address: Giessbach 1201 | 3855 Brienz, Giessbach, Brienz 3855, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Brienz > Giessbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giessbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Giessbach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome, dear guests - come in, enjoy the moment, and marvel at one of the most tremendous views in Europe. Be inspired by the charm of a true Grand Hotel and experience a sense of living history in one of the best preserved hotels of its time. From the moment you set foot in the Grandhotel Giessbach, you will find yourself in a world of unique splendour and elegant sophistication. It embodies the romance and charm of glorious bygone times. Today, just as it was one hundred years ago, the historical hotel residence, by the celebrated silvery Giessbach Falls, high above Lake Brienz, is quite simply a world of its own. Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows, with a breathtaking view of the unspoiled landscapes of Lake Brienz, this hidden oasis lies far away from everyday bustle and traffic. Relish the chance to unwind in this friendly and hospitable oasis, far away from everyday hustle and bustle. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grandhotel Giessbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Giessbach Hotel Brienz
Grandhotel Giessbach Swiss Alps

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing