We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Home Away From Home!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog Hammock

Hog Hammock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An African-American community and a preserved historic village on Sapelo Island.
Levy, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"Home Away From Home!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sapelo is my grandmother, her father, his father, his father, and now MY Home away from home!The ferry ride to the island is the most relaxed, with dolphins riding beside the boat. Then watching them dance once we have reached the island. Riding under the shade droop tress to the community to be greeted by family that hold the key to my past. I love them and Pray GOD will continue to keep hold the history and preserve the legacy of my 5th great grandfather in Hogg Hommock.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
20 Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg, GA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Sapelo Island - one of GA's Jewels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

In a quest to visit all Georgia's barrier islands, Sapelo Island was on our list of stops. We planned a camping trip so that we could stay a few days inexpensively. We found the Bailey family - especially Maurice - a huge help in planning our stay. We were able to stay at their campground and they were delightful hosts. They made our reservations for the ferry and provided a tour of the north end of the island. We hiked to Cabretta Beach one day - it was delightful and we had the beach to ourselves (except for the shore birds). The next day we hiked to the south end of the island to see the Reynolds Mansion, the UGA Marine Institute, and the lighthouse. It was interesting to see. We happened upon Beth who is in charge of the Friends of the Institute - she was friendly and able to answer our numerous questions. On our return to Hog Hammock, we stopped in at the public library and met Michelle. She was like everyone else we met, pleasant and friendly! If you get a chance, eat dinner at Lula's Kitchen - delicious Southern buffet! The residents of Hog Hammock truly live on "island time" - and it didn't take us long to slow down, either. This island is peaceful and beautiful! I would highly recommend others slowing down to take a peek at Sapelo!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sapelo Island, GA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you're seeking a getaway for rest and relaxation, Sapelo Island, GA is the place to go. Sapelo Island is about a 5 hour car ride from Atlanta. Once we arrived at the Meridian dock, we visited the Visitors Center which had a lot of history regarding the Island. Afterwards, we boarded the Ferry (The Katie Underwood) which took us to the Sapelo Island dock. The ferry ride takes about 30 mins. and it's air conditioned if you sit downstairs. The cost is $1.00 per person. Before boarding the ferry, it's a good idea to stop at Piggly Wiggly to pick up a few groceries. There is no grocery store on the Island. Also keep in mind there is a limed amout of items a person can load on the ferry. Once we arrived on Sapelo Island, we were greeted by Mr. Bailey, the owner of the Wallow Lodge, which is where our accommodations were. The Wallow Lodge is a lovely Bed & Breakfast which accommodates approximately 12 guest. Ms. Cornelia Bailey, Mr. Bailey's wife, is a very nice lady and was gracious enough to come and visit us during our stay at the Wallow Lodge. She taught us some history regarding Sapelo Island and encourages others to invest in the island. We also purchased Ms. Bailey's book to learn even more about God, Dr. Buzzard & The Bolito Man. Alford Bailey gave a tour around the north and south ends of the Island stopping at all of the historic sites. We took snacks and beverages to Nanny Goat Beach. The water felt absolutely marvelous! It was very hard for us to leave because the water felt so good. In order to get around on Sapelo Island, visitors have to rent a golf cart or a resident's car. We were limited in the areas we could go to with the golf carts. Visitors can also rent bicycles to get around on. The Country Store is the place to hang out. After the Country Store closes, just go next door to the bar to play cards and have a cold beverages. We took a hike on the nature trail where the mosquitos were in attack formation. If you stop for even just a moment, you'll be eaten alive! Best bet, just keep moving, it's only a 1 mile hihke to the beach. Although mosquitos are in aboundance, cell phone service on the Island is very limited. You'll have 'no service' on the Island if you have AT&T. Don't put too much tissue in the toilet at one time or you will have a big problem on your hands. The Residents and Visitors are genuinely friendly and it's mostly a crime-free island. Just get your groceries, relax, have fun, and especially have an abundance of insect repellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
24 Thank hapkido7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sapelo Island- a special place in time and space!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We visited Sapelo Island last week and really enjoyed our tour/ Maurice did an excellent job of telling stories of the Island and showing us the community of Hog Hammock. My favorite part was the "Trough" bar! Most interesting was the gentleman that ran the country store was also the bartender and at the end of the day when we were about to board the ferry- the same gentleman was the bus driver for the school children! Less than 50 people live on this beautiful island which remains rustic and pristine. Nice.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Trees, Birds, Grass, Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Spent the morning meeting at Hog Hammock Library with Michelle Johnson and other Sapelo residents. Must be on a tour or a guest of a resident to get on the ferry so best to plan ahead. The natural beauty of the island is well worth it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank marshhen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Hammock also viewed

 
Cumberland Island, Georgia Coast
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Hog Hammock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing