We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous”

Sapelo Island National Estuarine Research Reserve
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rich in natural history, this island's human history dates back 4,000 years and is made up of salt marsh, maritime forest, beach and dune areas.
Titusville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Took a group of seniors (21) out to the island. The ferry ride is about 30 minutes. Bus tour superb. Had lunch at the Reynolds Mansion up in the circus room. Food great and service wonderful. Visited Hog Hammock Library where we had a presentation on the local community and climbed the lighthouse for a spectacular view. Everyone I dealt with from the initial contacts all the way through the experience were wonderful. This is a GEM in Georgia's crown of natural attractions. Just can't say enough about the hospitality and friendliness of everyone. This is a real winner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ConnieBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sapelo: hidden gem”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Going to Sapelo was a great experience. It's well worth the cost and extremely interesting. There's a welcome center with information (hello to Stacey), gifts, and facilities where you purchase a ticket for the boat ride to the island. It's not something everyone does, so be prepared to brag about where you've been and what you've done. The estuaries are gorgeous, breathtaking in their own way, and season-changing. Wildlife is everywhere. The lighthouse is one that has been weather-worn, but gorgeous in it's own way. Make sure to bring sunscreen, cash, and be ready for anything. Wildlife? check. Adventure? check. Bathroom break and water afterwards? check. p.s. your best bet for a good time is going during the off season; Oct.-March. Just dress in layers so you can peel as needed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tybeebeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sapelo Island Adventure”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Enjoyed the tour through Sapelo arranged by the Northeast Florida Sierra Club. We were able to visit the north end of the island and see the Chocolate Plantation with a park naturalist. Also got a chance to climb to the top of the lighthouse and to see the island from that vantage point. We had lunch at the Reynold's Mansion and they were able to accomodate vegan's. It was a very interesting and informative tour from a naturalist and historical perspective. Really enjoyed the boat ride too. Definitely will go back again and spend more time exploring this special place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyable half day tour, neat ferry ride, gorgeous deserted beaches”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed the private tour booked through our B&B with 2 island residents Mr. and Mrs. Caesar Banks. Gorgeous unspoiled beach. Nice, pretty ferry ride. Island was highly rated for birding but we saw few birds due to the crunch of people in vans and bus tours--too loud and noisy in groups for meaningful birding. RJ Reynolds mansion was cool.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My best friend and I took this tour in Jan. 2009. The weather was breezy on the way over on an open ferry with that time of year...but I only needed a sweat shirt. We learned some interesting history in this 3 hour bus tour. We went by several points of interest and even stopped at the little market the tour guide was working triple duty. She rung us up lol. We stopped at the post office & mailed post cards to family and friends & she assisted again...lol. Went to the light house and beach which I enjoyed. We stopped at the mansion on the island. There are some 100 residents & a few children that catch the ferry to the main land for school & work. We learned a lot about the island. However, I thought the tour was Ok It was something to do but a bit long for me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cleematthews8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapelo Island National Estuarine Research Reserve also viewed

Sapelo Island, Georgia Coast
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Sapelo Island National Estuarine Research Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing