We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What the hell happened!”

Hammocks Trading Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Hammocks Trading Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 121 Restaurants in Sandy Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, fried green tomatoes, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Lobster Roll, Smoked Chicken Salad and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What the hell happened!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place was very good on previous visits a few months ago, but it has gone downhill fast. The service was very slow, the server seemed to be too busy(probably short staffed). The food disappointing. My spouse had the scallops which consisted of 4 small overdone bay scallops.not worth the price. I had the Cioppino which was lacking in seafood!!! Also not worth the price. We will not be going back. Very disappointed !!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Owner at Hammocks Trading Company, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi David,

I am very sorry to hear about your experience on Tuesday night. Chef William and I have reviewed your complaint and would like to invite you and your wife to come back to Hammocks and enjoy the Cioppino and the Scallops the way they should be prepared, our treat. We have also shared this with our cooks, servers, and bartenders to make sure this doesn't happen again. Tuesday was abnormally busy for that day of the week and caught us by surprise. That is not an excuse, however we strive to achieve the high quality of food and friendly/attentive service at all times, but on Tuesday night we dropped the ball. I hope you will give us another opportunity to prove to you that we are the same great restaurant we have always been. You can reach me at Hammocks 770-395-9592 to schedule a reservation.

Sincerely,

Jason Sheetz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    41
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“a nice place with yummy food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Hammocks recently, and am here to tell the world that among other things... their Edamame, Caesar Salad, BBQ'd Oysters, Burger Sliders and Beef Brisket Tacos (on Tuesdays) are ALL out of this world. Heck... if the stuff I samples was this good, the rest of it must be pretty good as well. On top of that, the owner Jason Sheetz is a gracious host and a really nice guy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattfoleyATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food in a casual atmosphere”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great food & service in a casual atmosphere, menu changes every few months. Duck confit was delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chefst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Laidback and yummy!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Casual seafood dining at its best. Have been there a couple of times and loved it both. Service was perfect, apt descriptions of dishes, small but nice wine list. Family friendly but doesn't get too crazy loud.

Helpful?
Thank KSnave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small plates, nice find”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We ordered 4 small plates and found it enough to satisfy two adults. We ordered the wings, hummus, mixed fried seafood and fried green tomato and ended with the pumpkin spice dessert. We thought the wings were just ok. The service was great as our server was very knowledgable and seemed to enjoy working there. The prices are a tad high for what you get...especially since they are small plates.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrenKen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammocks Trading Company also viewed

 

Been to Hammocks Trading Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing