We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does cost but worth the money and plan to stay a while.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nori Nori

Nori Nori
Ranked #9 of 120 Restaurants in Sandy Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Does cost but worth the money and plan to stay a while.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great food, many many selection and options in every and any form. Worth the money, but get with at least 1hr to spend prior to their closing the kitchen is key as stuff is not refilled close to closing hrs.
Selection of Sushi and food is amazing and better than any other buffet place one can think of. Yes I say buffet and sushi, but its not your RuSans sushi either. It much better quality and a huge selection of other food items form meats, to crepes, to soups and Hibachi grills.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raimil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    38
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“WHAT HAPPENED? THE PLACE WAS TERRIFIC.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were a big fan of Nori Nori...Going back 2 owners. But something has gone wrong in the last year...we were disappointed this last time. The many variations and sheer splendid presentation is a "WOW". You could not ask for a more lovely serving display. Seemingly endless choices and variety. But the food was not that good. The food buffets were changed out frequently so it is not from standing in a steam table too long. My father-in-law was an old school retired doctor and when asked how he liked the restaurant dinner, he would say laughingly "I'll let you know tomorrow"...Well tomorrow came and we were all feeling ill. Four sick people. Each had different food. I had only the asian/hot food, my buddies only had sushi, another had the mongolian style -do -it yourself. Later that day and next we were in the bathrooms

The service was extremely attentive, the decor is nice, the presentation really inviting, great dessert choices, the price reasonable, even a bargain for the sheer amount and variety ($30 per, with drink and tip), but the food had a really bad day. Alas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank david554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
199 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Something to satisfy everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are out of town visitors who came because of internet reviews. We arrived at 8 PM on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was still very crowded. Still more people came after us, even though the restaurant stopped serving food at 9:30 pm. The restaurant is tucked away and parking lot is behind. The buffet is set up attractively, with a large variety of sushi and sashimi on one side, cooked food on another side, salads and cold plates in between. The selection of sushi included many kinds of maki rolls with both cooked and raw fish---raw fish usually being tuna or salmon. There was a nice selection of sashimi with roe, both salmon and flying fish. The unagi, or eel rolls, were scarce. We did not see any eel nigiri at all, or else they disappeared as soon as they were made. The highlight of the cold foods are the all-you-can-eat snow crab legs. These are chilled and were previously frozen, but reasonably good. The downside was that there was a family of 4 or 5 adults and a couple of kids who came and grabbed piled multiple plates of crab every time a fresh batch was laid out, so that they almost immediately disappeared. What can you do? They paid for it. It was near closing time and they knew food would not be coming out soon. The irksome thing was that they did not come close to finishing their food---just left it on the table.

A flat-top grill was set up for hot stir-fry. Next to it were steaming pots of soup: miso, crab, and broth for udon. The udon are thick, chewy Japanese wheat noodles that are garnished with radish and served in a tasty broth. You can also garnish with red sweet and hot peppers. I highly recommend the udon.

The cooked foods included fish, barbecue beef, frie rice, pork, lo mei noodles, and vegetables. Our kids enjoyed the barbecued beef especially. We liked the variety of salads as well---seaweed salad, kimchi, slaws. I tried the grilled squid. The grilled flavor was very good, but the squid was overcooked and was rubbery.

The dessert station had a small variety of cakes, cheesecake, cookies which were commercial and not made on premises. Edible but standard buffet fare. The restaurant has a soft-serve ice cream station serving vanilla and green tea ice cream. The ice creams were watery and not flavorful. Green and red jello and cut melon and pineapple are also available. These were fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonymousfortwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sushi Buffet? Yes, and it is excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Like many people, I had doubts about the quality of an all-you-can-eat sushi buffet. I had visions of The Golden Corral meets Benihana, but that was until we visited this amazing place, and have been going back for more than a year. They have a wonderful selection of maki and nigiri style sushi as well as fresh crab legs, oysters, and some amazing hot items (try the crab soup and stuffed shrimp scampi). There are simply too many different flavors here to try it all on one visit. You'll want to come again soon, just to try this things you missed. My wife is Asian and I am a professional chef, and this is hands down our favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Even if you think you don't like sushi, you will leave with a new appreciation of Japanese cuisine. Whether you live here or are just passing through, make the trip to Sandy Springs; it will be worth your time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went on an amazingly crowded Saturday night but since we were only a party of 4 the wait was not too bad - less than ten minutes. The restaurant has a huge cold food/sushi bar, hibachi style grill and a hot bar. It's all buffet style. We clearly arrived at the tail end of a rush and had to hunt down plates, silver ware, and wait for the hot bar to be replenished. There was plenty of other items to eat while we waited and the food, as usual was wonderful. Desserts are kind of prosaic, but after eating that much food, you don't really have a lot of room for dessert anyway. They have added custom made crepes - not up to French standards, I'm sure, but they were very good. The service was outstanding. Not much atmosphere, but we go there to pig out not for romance and we go regularly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twywn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nori Nori also viewed

 
Sandy Springs, GA
 

Been to Nori Nori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing