We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Barbeque!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Soul Barbeque

Southern Soul Barbeque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Barbeque!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This BBQ "joint" doesn't look like much from the outside, but wait until you taste the Pulled Pork! One of the best barbecues ever! The line never stops! There is seating outside and a few tables inside, so if it's crowded, you might want to take it "to go". It's one of those places that you order at the counter, they take your name and find you either inside or out. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 star is because of the sides. The fried okra was very good, but the coleslaw wasn't that great. The Brunswick Stew was very disappointing. First off I've never seen Brunswick Stew with Lima Beans. Secondly, it looked and tasted more like a vegetable soup. But don't let that stop you from giving this place a try. You won't regret it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,245
    397
    110
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best BBQ EVER! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We've had BBQ all over the country at tailgates, at catered events, at restaurants proclaiming to be the "best." They were all sadly mistaken. Southern Soul is phenomenal. We have visited twice during our one week stay. This place stays busy, so if you're in a hurry or don't want a crowd, call your order in. I wish I could take Southern Soul home to LA!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ we ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Have you ever had a meal and all four people at the table said "that is the best BBQ we have had any where we have been? This is it! We each had a sandwich, fries and one other side. The collards were great the stew great and whatever else that I can't remember were good as well. The next time we visit our friends in St. Marys we are going to insist that this place is on the schedule.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whuguley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best BBQ places anywhere in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Wow! Really incredible! We went on a Monday at lunch when the special was The Marley (jerk chicken, pineapple and black beans in a burrito). Yum! My husband has the traditional pulled pork which was also incredible. The fried green beans were wonderful too! Definitely worth a stop or two or three when in the area! As my husband said, "I would put it in the top 5 barbecue places in the country and right now I can't remember who the other 4 are!"

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank allisondeanlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Don't let your tongue slap your brains out. Their SS sandwich was outstanding. Nice variety of BBQ sauces (we liked the sweet and spicey). If you want to go for lunch, get there early as this place gets really busy. It's worth the wait. Nothing fancy, just plain ol' goooood.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Soul Barbeque also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Southern Soul Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing