We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just had to try this..”

Southern Soul Barbeque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I just had to try this..”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I just had to try this BBQ stand. It has a whole bunch of atmosphere. You see the smoker smoking away to one side. The location is at a roundabout. A covered patio that you can't miss from a mile away. It is always crowded and the locals told me I had to try it. So I did. Parking is a tough, but sometimes think that is a good sign, right? You walk in and place your order at the counter. I had the pulled pork and my friend had the BBQ ribs. We made our way to the patio area. You have to listen carefully because they yell out your name on an intercom (sometimes in a silly way) or just simply as they walk out to serve you your food. This is all part of the charm. There is a basket with a selection of BBQ sauces in squeeze bottle to choose from. Honestly, I thought the food was okay as were the sauces. I loved the hype leading up to it but thought the pulled pork was a wee bit dry. A week later I tried the BBQ ribs and it was ok but not wow. Heads up...you will smell like smoke if you sit outside and their is a good wind. The good news, the meal was priced just right.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,363
    438
    120
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best BBQ I ever had!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My family and I decided to go for some real southern BBQ. We ordered the pulled pork, brisket, and chicken salad sandwich. The sides we chose were fries, mac & cheese, okra and slaw. We loved it all. The portions were huge! The sweet Georgia BBQ sauce was to die for. We will try to go back before vacation ends to get one last taste of BBQ perfection!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slr2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

After reading about this St Simons Island restaurant and hearing about its reputation we decided to visit. The smell of the barbecue is very inviting but the food was unfortunately disappointing. My chicken was pale and lacking flavour. However my husbands barbecue ribs were much nicer and the sauce was good.
The cafe is very basic (plastic knives and forks, paper plates, eating benches etc).
If you want basic food at a reasonable price then this restaurant will suit, but we were unimpressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milner, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Love the food at this place. The barbecue is consistently very good and the sides are great too! The place is small and cramped inside so sit outside by the smoker lol.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Bar B Que”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Wow! Great Bar B Que - just the right amount of smoke, great bark and awesome sauces. Brisket was smoked to perfection and the pulled meat will melt in your mouth. The staff is friendly and the food is served fast-n-hot. Make sure to try the Brunswick Stew which has just the right amount of spice. Limited seating indoors and outdoors. One bench is next to a smoker - too hot for summer and the smoke will irritate yours eyes. Don't miss this place for it is well worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khammesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Soul Barbeque also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Southern Soul Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing