We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sewer aroma vs BBQ = disgusting experience”

Southern Soul Barbeque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews and had to try it out. The smell inside was horrible. It smelled like the sewer. When I asked about it they said its been like that so were used to it. Yuck!! Then we asked for 5 meals which all came to us cold! The pulled pork was actually chunked even though we asked ahead of time. There was a male server who was very nice. All in all we will NEVER go again. We left our food and went to an amazing pizzeria down the street called Sal's Italian Pizzeria. Amazing!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mrs_Adams9096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05132012n, Owner at Southern Soul Barbeque, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Mrs. Adams,

We are truly sorry about the unacceptable incident you encountered on your last visit to Southern Soul BBQ. At the time we were experiencing some backed up plumbing and had hoped to have it taken care of by service. This was an unfortunate situation that we had to address and we are sorry that you had to deal with it on the day you decided to stop in .
That being said, there is absolutely NO excuse for cold BBQ coming out of our kitchen and we promise you we will get to the bottom of your complaint and remedy this issue very quickly. We take our food seriously and will not tolerate bad BBQ! Please accept our sincere apologies. We would like to extend a invitation to you to be our guest so that we can make this right.
Your Truly, Griffin, Harrison, and Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,676 - 1,680 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Brisket and ribs. Great slaw. I roll of paper towels and a variety of bbq sauces right on the table. Food flies out of the kitchen. Indoor and outdoor seating was available and the place was packed. Even with the crowd, service was fast and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoveCityResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were exploring St. Simmons and just happen to spot the place after planing on going to another place based on local recommendation. Glad we did! Great food, service, owner happen to be there and very nice. Seemed pretty popular with the locals and it was visited by Guy Fieri from Diners and Dives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

They have outside table, where i could bring my dog. It is bery convenient for a traveling dog ownner. We ordered pull pork, beef brisket, and smoked turkey. They are all great, especially the smoked turkey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AudreyWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After reading reviews of Southern Soul, we had to visit. We were not disappointed.

All of us got pulled pork sandwiches. Most got the Southern Soul Sandwich (jumbo pulled pork) with various sides - potato salad, Brunswick stew, BBQ beans, and mac & cheese. Everyone loved their sandwiches and sides.

Sauces - There were several options so there was a sauce for everyone. No complaints there. Yummy!!

Brunswick Stew - This is my husband's favorite side and he tries it at ever barbecue place we visit. Typically though, he is sorely disappointed. However, this was not the case at Southern Soul. He was thrilled and said this was the best Brunswick Stew he has ever had at a restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DERALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Soul Barbeque also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Southern Soul Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing