We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iguanas "Best Shrimp Ever!"”

Iguanas Seafood Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Iguanas "Best Shrimp Ever!"”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We visited Saint Simons Island, George this past weekend and were looking for good seafood. Our hotel recommended Iguanas Seafood Restaurant. About a 20 minute wait, but the bar was open - so that's where we ate. They had a great selection of draft beers.
We started with She-Crab soup - it was delicious. Very rich and creamy.
Then we shared two appetizers Grilled Bacon Wrapped Shrimp and a Crab Cake. The bacon wrapped shrimp was very good - something I've never had - what a treat. The crab cake was mostly crab - very little filler - outstanding.
We finished by splitting a fried shrimp meal. I've had fried shrimp in a lot of restaurants - this was an order of magnitude better than any shrimp I've ever had - what a treat!
Just when we thought we were finished, we were told there was complimentary ice cream - nice finish to a great meal!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilesL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    525
    147
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food but at tourist prices”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The food was good and the seafood tasted fresh, but expect to pay higher prices than normal, which is to be expected on an island that has a large tourist industry.
The staff is friendly and helpful, but it foes seem that their focus is on parties of 2+.
Overall not a bad place to eat when on the island.

Helpful?
Thank diverchick6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had clams strips, which were fantastic. The restaurant was loud even though it wasn't that crowded, but the food was great. Hush puppies were very good, excellent shrimp. Free soft serve ice cream with your meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great local seafood”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5 ate here for dinner this week. Excellent seafood. Very fresh shrimp. Heads up on the Cole slaw - it has a different flavor than any other I have ever tried. You can substitute extra hushpuppies for Cole slaw - which I will do next time. Free soft serve cream after meal with cones and bowls if you want hot fudge or hot peanut butter (never had it - but it was excellent) on your ice cream. Generous portions had enough for leftovers. Will definitely return. Our waitress told us they have won the best shrimp award in SSI for something like 7 years straight. A+

Helpful?
Thank CU88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Expected more, just OK”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

After the great reviews about bacon-wrapped shrimp and the waiter talking about locally caught shrimp, we were disappointed. We tried the Shrimp appetizer platter to get shrimp 4 different ways, it was 12 shrimp, 3 shrimp of each four different ways. It was just OK. A side of friend mushrooms was OK. We will continue to look some something a bit better since we are on the actual coast. Nice and courteous staff and outside dining in addition to inside dining

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguanas Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Iguanas Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing