We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best fried shrimp ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iguanas Seafood Restaurant

Iguanas Seafood Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Longwood, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some of the best fried shrimp ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stopped at Iguana's for dinner Thanksgiving evening. The place was not very busy at all. My husband and I split the fried shrimp dinner (14 shrimp) which was both delicious and satisfying. We started with house salads beforehand which were very large and fresh. We'll stop in again if we find ourselves in St. Simons again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kickamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    486
    128
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the fried shrimp!.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I give a big "thumbs up" to Iguanas! Our food was delicious .I had the fried shrimp (a very generous portion) with cole slaw and hush puppies. Hubby had half portion of shrimp/half portion of grouper. Iguanas has a large affordable priced wine and beer menu. Our server was friendly and efficient. Wonderful casual restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Fried Shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stopped here because it had been recommended by a friend as having good fried shrimp. It happened that they were having a lunch special on fried shrimp for $10.99. We both jumped on that and were so glad we did. It was extremely good and the portions were generous. We were able to eat outside and watch all the folks going by. Very nice experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthGeorgiaPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We ate at Iguanas this past weekend and it was absolutely fabulous. We both had shrimp that I would rate as one of the best I have ever eaten. I had broiled shrimp, it was superb. We also had hushpuppies, fries and rice and brocolli. All was perfectly cooked and seasoned. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone and will be going back next time I'm in Saint Simon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joanalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it very much!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Visited St. Simon's recently and had lunch at Iguanas. It was a very pleasant experience. The staff was courteous and efficient. We had the lunch special which was fried shrimp and it was delicious!! We ate on the patio but was impressed with the interior when we went in for the ice cream. Overall, a very nice experience and I will be going back when I visit St. Simon's again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRobyn1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguanas Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Iguanas Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing