We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first trip to St. Simons Island”

Iguanas Seafood Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Augusta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“our first trip to St. Simons Island”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the manager, Wanda, of the Sea Gate Inn. She said the food was good, reasonable and had a free ice cream setup.
We found the place to be clean, busy but very accomodating. The shrimp my wife had was excellent. I had the fried fish with fries which was good but not great. For dessert we had all the ice cream we wanted, no charge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    532
    150
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great people!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I are Georgia natives, both raised on the coast and grew up eating great seafood. So, we are picky about seafood restaurants and usually leave disappointed. This was not the case at Igunas. We loved everything! (we ordered the fish and shrimp) The homemade dressing and remoulade sauce was so yummy!

My fiancé convinced me to sit at the bar, and I'm glad we did! The bartender's sense of humor was awesome. Don't miss this place if you are on SSI.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best shrimp on the island!!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been there numerous times and have always had excellent service. I love the atmosphere. This is by far my favorite place to eat on the island!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnhridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The place to go when at Jekyll”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Every year I go to Jekyll for a conference and make a point to go down a couple of days early and head to St. Simons to Iquanas. Have never been disappointed. It is great food and the portions are abundant. If you go with someone you could share a meal. Had the blackened scallops, they aren't too spicy but are tasty. Then a free ice bar which is perfect. It is down at the St. Simons Pier so after you eat you stroll a couple of blocks to the pier and watch the world go by and walk off your dinner. Worth the drive if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local Flavor”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really friendly place ! Excellent service, Food the same , really enjoyed the Shrimp! Free Ice Cream, how can you go wrong !! Enjoyed by everyone at our table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguanas Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Iguanas Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing