We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of The 4th of May Cafe - CLOSED

The 4th of May Cafe
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: We are a family friendly restaurant featuring fresh seafood and Southern local fare. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The 4th of May is located in the Pier village area only 3 blocks from the beach. We have pet friendly outdoor seating and take-out is available. Our indoor seating is cool and casual. Stop in for a fresh homemade dessert and don't forget to say hi to Aunt Helen!!
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The 4th of May Cafe closed in May 2014. Too bad, because it was an island institution. But the owner decided to close up shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SSIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    105
    40
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adamstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Sadly, just arrived May 24 (Memorial day weekend) to find this amazing place gone and up for lease -- closed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great food - good service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We decided to give lunch a try after a recommendation from the trolley tour guide, it was really good, very reasonably priced, excellent extensive menu and great attentive staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachyWaves30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have gone to the 4th of May for years and the last times we have been there the food has not been as good as it used to be. The portions are smaller now for more money. The oysters are about the size of a quarter and yes you get a dozen but they are very small. Use to be they were much larger. It is like they are being cut in half to make the quantity.

The food took a while to come and was only warm when it got there. It used to be piping hot. And what happened to the she-crab soup? They have a poor replacement that only has a few bits (and small at that) of crab and is no where as tasty.

We cannot understand how this once great restaurant is being go down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GoAllOver47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Average food, usually a long wait”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The food quality has declined and the wait has increased. It is always crowded with locals, but I have been disappointed my last couple of visits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DraLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 4th of May Cafe also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing