We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot”
Review of The 4th of May Cafe - CLOSED

The 4th of May Cafe
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: We are a family friendly restaurant featuring fresh seafood and Southern local fare. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The 4th of May is located in the Pier village area only 3 blocks from the beach. We have pet friendly outdoor seating and take-out is available. Our indoor seating is cool and casual. Stop in for a fresh homemade dessert and don't forget to say hi to Aunt Helen!!
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great spot for lunch (didnt have time to try for breakfast or dinner but definetly would)..our group ordered the following: Garden Salad (spring mix - no iceberg :) ), Cuban, Turkey Reuben and BLT with fried Green tomato...all were fab! Great flavors..wish we has ordered the pumpkin muffins..the kids ordered chicken fingers kids meals..skimpy on the fingers ..they could have spared one more..everything was fresh and tasted great..will go again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    105
    40
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast Not As Great As In The Past”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The breakfast menu has been scaled down, the décor is a little more worn, and the prices are now a little high for value received.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Loved the pumpkin muffins. Simple atmosphere that needs a little TLC but breakfast great.Ate there 3 days for breakfast. ... pancakes and bacon and pumpkin muff excellent. Good biscuits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qquiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Worth Another Visit”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed The Fried Green Tomato BLT, & Fried Oyster PO Boy. We Also Liked The Pimento Cheese Spread. Service Was Okay. Not A New Place, Need To spend A Full Day Taking Apart Tables & Giving Place A Good Cleaning. Would Make A Big Difference. Liked The food Enough To Go Back For More Another Time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJmglS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“I wanted to like it, but just couldn't”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is our second summer in a row giving the 4th of May a try. We really WANT to like it, but it just wasn't good. I got a veggie plate and the food was bland; I had to put salt on everything, which I never do. The service wasn't great. We were one of two tables in the whole restaurant, but we had to keep asking people other than our server for napkins, ketchup, refills, etc. But the reason this gets a 2 instead of a 3 is that walking down the hall to the bathroom was a scary experience. Flies were swarming, and I mean swarming, and the smell was horrible. If the hallway was like that, it made me wonder what was on the other side of the closed door to the kitchen. We noticed they were getting tons of take out orders while we were there, so something must be good; we just didn't get it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank amtedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 4th of May Cafe also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing