We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food.”
Review of The 4th of May Cafe - CLOSED

The 4th of May Cafe
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: We are a family friendly restaurant featuring fresh seafood and Southern local fare. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The 4th of May is located in the Pier village area only 3 blocks from the beach. We have pet friendly outdoor seating and take-out is available. Our indoor seating is cool and casual. Stop in for a fresh homemade dessert and don't forget to say hi to Aunt Helen!!
Darien, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the food.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Real homestyle southern food with great waitstaff. Very friendly. A little crowded, but a great way to meet new preople. Come in your beachwear or casual dress.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    105
    40
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted quick breakfast at 10am. Went in and were told to sit wherever we wanted. Told TWO waitresses we were going to sit outside. Waited for service. After 10 minutes of neglect a waitress came and cleared the table next to us and sat another person down and gave him a menu!!! I went inside and asked to be served. Waitress came out and was apologetic and we got menus and ordered drinks. Later a different waitress came out and gave us our drinks and took our orders. 30+ minutes later the food shows up with one incorrect order and two very tasteless selections. The place was not crowded. The place needs some paint and cleaning outside. We were very very unimpressed and would never recommend or go back

Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast Best”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The breakfast menu here is great. Omelettes, French Toast, Waffles...the works. A bit crowded around the tables, but the relaxed family atmosphere and good food made it worth the closeness to other tables.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ga
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service is a joke!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place was recommended to us so we decided to give it a try one weekday through lunch. It was crowded but we were seated right away. Our order was taken 5 minutes later. As we sat there, we started noticing that everyone in the place was not very happy. The table next to us was just about to get up and leave because they had been waiting about 45 minutes. We ended up waiting about 45 minutes as well. I ordered a shrimp po' boy sandwich and my wife had a simple hamburger. I paid $11 for the shrimp po boy and it came with only potato chips....little over priced in my opinion. The actual meal tasted ok, but not worth the 45 minute wait or the price.

As a side note, the old lady that owned the place was in there and she was completely in the way of everyone in there, including her help. Instead of making trying to make small talk with all the unhappy patrons, she she should have been in the kitchen popping the whip to her cooks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4th of May- Stay away!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just got home from what was supposed to be breakfast, but after an hour wait for two meals it ended up being lunch. The service is slow and not very friendly. Some of our food came out cold, and the order was wrong, but we never saw anyone until the server dropped the check at our table while passing by. The restaurant is very dirty. We watched a girl drop glasses on the nasty floor, pick them up and put them right back on the shelf without cleaning them off. And the bathroom...forget about it!! It is located in the back of the restaurant with no air conditioning, is filthy, and has holes in the walls! Most gas stations are cleaner! We noticed upon leaving the place has an 82 rating posted on the wall, which is NOT good! So please, save yourself a lot of time and money and eat somewhere else!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tinapari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 4th of May Cafe also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing