We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little to nothing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
Reviewed July 31, 2007

when i was booking my room i nasked what kind of breakfast they serve. the girl gave a lovely menu of items. unfortunatly when i went for breakfast my first morning there they did not even have coffee. the girl behind the counter said she was sorry but it was frozen. the second day i went down abou 10 mins befor it was supposed to end and they had no bananas, bagels, butter , cream cheese or milk! what kind of a hotel is this. the girl called someone and i dont think she was able to get any help. she said she was sorry and that there was nothing she was able to do unless i wanted to wait. can i say one word CHEAP! high promis, high price, no satisfaction.

Stayed: July 2007
5  Thank floridasunsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2007

Let me start by saying that I have traveled all over the world and have stayed at some outstanding hotels and some dumps (please see my travelduck profile). Folks, this hotel is a fine choice for St. Simons. It is certainly not the Ritz or Four Seasons - but it has a lot of great features. I stayed here four nights which speaks a lot to the quality.

Okay, let's get something clear . . . It is NOT on the beach or really close to a swimable beach. I believe a lot of the negative reviews of the hotel stem from the assumption that the hotel is steps from the beach. The hotel really never claimed to be on the beach. I really cannot understand why people would come to St. Simons to sit on a beach in any event. Go a bit south to the Florida beaches for that pleasure. Okay, I have gotten off track. Here, are some positive and negative aspects of the hotel:

Positives

1. Front desk staff very pleasant and welcoming. The check in was great and the owner was very helpful in all regards.

2. Cost of $169/night is a little higher then I wanted to spend for work but a fair price for high season on the weekend.

3. You can literally be at the St. Simons Village in a three minute walk. No need to have car to go to the Village. Eat at some great places, shop, go to the Pier, sit by the water, and drink at some pubs within a block or two stroll. I recommend 4th of May or Sanddollar for breakfast and Barbara Jeans looked packed for lunch and dinner.

4. The hotel has free highspeed internet - really comes in handy for business trips.

5. There is a free continental breakfast - it is nothing special but a nice touch.

6. Rooms are extremely spacious, tastefully decorated with flat screen tvs, and the bed is MOST comfortable.

Negatives

1. Not on the beach or walking distance to a swimable beach - but you knew that, see above :) My room had a nice view of the dumpsters in back but I am not here for a view.

2. I said it is not the Four Seasons or Ritz. Don't expect a five star hotel. The paint in the room is pealing in a few places and the floors need a good mopping (although when I mentioned that floor to the owner he rectified the situation promptly and professionally). I really think the housekeeper needs better training.

3. The lobby is somewhat tacky. I would suggest to the owners to get rid of the cheap souveniers, close the door to the laundry room off of the lobby, and put a few nicer furnishings. It kind of looks like the waiting area of your local Shoneys. Rooms are much better so don't worry.

Any other questions, please feel free to ask!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank travelduck111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Very dirty bed sheets, manager very rude along with his staff!!!! will never stay in anything related to ocean inn suites!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank nostaynomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Our stay here was the highlight to our visit to the GA coast. The staff was incredibly helpful and approachable. They were also very accomodating to our small child. The hotel is newly constructed, and the rooms were comfortably modern. They were also VERY clean. The hotel also serves a good complimentary breakfast that includes some nice extras such as hot eggs and sausage.
I see that some reviewers have complained that it's not on the beach. I don't think that the hotel ever claimed that they were on the beach. I asked when I called about a reservation & they were very frank about it. It's across the street from a beautiful park that is on the beach. That part of the beach isn't swimmable, but it's a nice view and there are plenty of paths in the park to walk on.
Also, the hotel is located in the center of town, so it's easy to walk to restaurants, shops, etc. We highly recommend it here. It was an amazing break from our life in Brooklyn!

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank Brooklyn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

I am a frequent traveler and have not stayed in a hotel this bad ever! The staff is rude and unprofessional. They claim this hotel is on the beach....it is not on the beach. You can't even see the beach from the hotel. The rooms are dirty and small. I saw the owners children cleaning rooms!!! Do not waste your money on this hotel. Any good review of this hotel must have been submitted by the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank traveldivaCharl0tte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

While visiting My Friends in St Simons Island, I saw your Beautiful Inn and decided to make it a place to stay when I came to visit again.
My stay with you from February 9 to Feb 11 2007 was wonderful . .
The ocean view room was very nice, clean, warm and welcoming, had everything I needed.
Your Inn Hostess was pleasant, cheerful, thoughtful and helpful.
The complimentary breakfast was good, the location was perfect, just what I wanted for convenient shopping, visiting friends, and enjoying the pier.
Thank you for a wonderful visit .. I'll be back and will highly recommend your accommodations to others.
Sincerely

Mary Daniels
Warner Robins GA 31093

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank Maryonpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I can tell you false advertising at it best here! It is not on the beach and you can't even see the ocean. Staff is harsh and rude when you tell them this and will not allow you to cancel. We stayed oen night and ran! What a waste for the price. Rooms are nice but who wants to pay a ton of money and not be on the beach! Save your money and stay else where, they are many nicer places right on the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Dbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.0 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
123 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Address: 599 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4723
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $134 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing