We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Gilead, OH
2 reviews
“Awesome Experience!!!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Ocean Inn and Suites in St Simons Island, GA and I can't say enough good things about our stay. The staff is unbelievably accommodating! The rooms are wonderful! Clean & so homey! I would highly recommend staying here! I will be back just as soon as I can get there!!!!

Room Tip: All of the room options are awesome! It just depends on what you are looking for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitneyann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    108
    39
    14
    18
See reviews for
61
161
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Park your car! Walk to The Village on St. Simon's Island for your meals. Enjoy nightlife and walk back to Ocean Inn and Suites. We have stayed there Georgia-Florida football game weekend and it's the best! Open your doors to the balconies, watch the game on TV and listen (and join in!) to the revelry on the Island and in the Hotel. I had made a good decision to let someone else have my ticket to the game! Stayed in the Presidential Suite which is on the corner - opened to balconies on two sides. Two bedrooms. Great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the lighthouse view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaconMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Visit here once per year for the past 3-4 years. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, located within walking distance shopping, pier, lighthouse and other amusements. A variety of great places to eat! Wish that the in room WiFi signal was stronger, could not connect except in the lobby!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is odd, they consider themselves luxury, but, I am pretty sure they do not know the definition of luxury, maybe budget would be a better adjective for this place. The rooms - I appreciated the hardwood floors and the refrigerator, but, that was about it. The beds were fine, the shower was terrible - they desperately need new shower heads - the ones they have now are painful to use. I don't know how to describe it, comparable to a hose on the worst setting and someone is spraying you with it. The location is fine, but, it should be noted the beach is about a 5-8 minute drive down the beach. The breakfast was pitiful, no protein whatsoever, just bagels, pastries, some cereal and bananas (the only fruit). I did like the outdoor balcony, although, there was someone smoking on the balcony next to the public balcony. The staff was nice, but, when we checked in they assigned us to another guest's room, thankfully they were not there when we walked in, that could have been embarrassing. Would I stay here again, no.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Champuga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Like the title says, the price is beyond reasonable. For the accomodations and the LOCATION they can't be beat. You can walk to everything which was a major bonus and the main reason we picked this over places closer to the good beaches. The staff was wonderful and knowledgeable of the area. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: You want a sit down balcony. The second and third floors are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The rooms are very nice and large. Comes with nice size fridge and they offer parking. I had a wonderful check-in and check out experience, each time was with a friendly clerk who knew the area and surrounding areas. Walked in and got a great rate since it was their off season. I was able to even get a room that looked into the Ocean and directly at the Saint Simons Lighthouse. At night I could see the beams from the lighthouse from my window. I saw the beautiful sunset and then again saw it rise in the morning. I had a nice little balcony. They offered a complimentary continental which was basic but clean and just enough to get me going. My room was handsomely decorated and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The location is the primary reason to stay here. You can walk to the Georgia Sea Grille, and the pier area, and on the beach a bit, and the price is reasonable. Rooms are nice and most have good views of the lighthouse and ocean, and a nice breeze. Staff was very accommodating when we asked to change rooms, and switched us right away (we hoped for a balcony, and they obliged gladly.) Recommended.

Room Tip: Try for an upper level room facing the ocean/lighthouse or facing the oak-lined side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Property: Ocean Inn and Suites
Address: 599 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4723
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing