We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Coastal South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice limited service hotel. Rooms are clean with fairly good quality furnishings. Great location and view of lighthouse from the front of the hotel. We had a room at the back with a not so great view of a house, so I would recommend springing for a room with a lighthouse view. The staff is what really makes this hotel. Every one of them was fantastic. It was quite refreshing too see pleasant people that enjoy their jobs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilknarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    96
    36
    12
    16
See reviews for
57
147
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Overall the room was nice. The furniture, decor and fixtures could use some updating and housekeeping could have done a little better dusting in the nooks and crannies. The inn is walking distance of shops and restaurants. Our room had a beautiful view of the lighthouse.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay from check in until we had to leave three days later. As an older couple we appreciated the location - only two short blocks from the village. And a beautiful walk it was. Across the street from the lighthouse and along the seawall through the park to the shops and restaurants. Sunsets were spectacular from the pier. Both the day and night staff at the Inn couldn't have been nicer. Always greeted us with smiles and conversation. The standard room was quite large with two queen beds that are very comfortable. We loved the wood floors. Parking is under the building out of the sun and the spaces are large enough to allow easy access. The Ocean Inn and Suits was a good value. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have a better view. Third floor probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villager70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

From making the reservation to the checkout, our stay was Fantastic. We opted for the Anniversary special and what a pure delight everything was. As we opened the door to our spacious room over looking the lighthouse we were greeted with a beautiful rose, gift bag with eveything you would desire for snacks, a generous box of St Simons Sweet Treats chocolates, and our two certicates one for delicious dinner at the Georgia Sea Grill, which is a must and a Rickshaw ride to dinner and local hot spots. The staff assisted in all our needs. This is definetly a lovely place to stay, walking distance to the pier, shopping and dining...

Room Tip: Top floor middle room over looking lighthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkocala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently had a Volleyball tournament in Brunswick and stayed at your beautiful Hotel. The Location could not be better and the accommodation were perfect. Staff was friendly and the reservation process was easy. The girls loved the hotel and the closeness to shopping and Igaunas were we ate dinner. The beds were extremely comfortable and they had amazing pillows. I did not need to bring my own pillows from home! We will definitely stay at this hotel every time we visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
276 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great value, good location for walking to village. Daytime front desk clerk, Stephanie was fabulous! Made us feel special. Nighttime clerk, caucasian gal with tattoos was brisk and dismissive. Comfortable beds, good fridge. Bathroom quite dark, possibly due to the black tile that is EVERYWHERE! What a costly design mistake. Great parking. Stayed Aug 16.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front or you will be looking at a dumpster!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lemon737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been staying here at least twice a year since 2004. Excellent staff and super clean rooms! Two blocks from the pier, shopping and resturants. This hotel has an atmosphere that keeps us coming back! And each room has a sitting balcony to catch that ocean breeze!

Room Tip: Rooms on side that have a view of lighthouse or any suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#5 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Property: Ocean Inn and Suites
Address: 599 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4723
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing