We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a great location for this sweet hotel-you can walk to all the restaurants and shops in the village, also the playground, pool, and pier. It was so convenient to not have to find a parking place-just walk right out of the hotel and you're just a few steps away from the village. The staff here was wonderful-so friendly and helpful!! The pool was clean and refreshing. Our room (the Geechee Suite) was large with comfortable beds. As previous reviewers have said, the breakfast is not extensive, but it was adequate and we focus more on lunch and dinner anyway. Again-we were thrilled with the location and the staff. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiamomto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 326 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very nice hotel. The staff is outstanding. Very clean. One of the the nicest most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I am an airline pilot and stay in hotel rooms all the time, this place is awesome. Great location and fantastic rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is our second stay here. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are very clean and beautiful. I have stayed other places on the island and this is always my first choice. Very convenient to everything in the village and is right across the street from the lighthouse. The only thing they could really improve on is their breakfast. It is pretty minimal, but works. Yes, the washcloths could be a little softer, but they were clean. As with most beach areas the local water has a scent to it which filters over to the laundry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Inn and Suites this past weekend in one of their Presidential Suites. We were not impressed with the quality of the rooms or service. While the suite was spacious, they lack a level of comfort. There wasn't a couch to sit on and the televisions were dated. The satellite television did not carry ESPN but I was able to catch up on Ice Road Truckers, not an even trade in my opinion. The bedrooms themselves were small.

The emphasis seems to be on large bath rooms however the bedroom that has an adjoining bathroom was a double bed while the king size bed was across the hall from 500 sq ft bath house. In the mega bathroom, the shower didn't quite work the way it was supposed to. The kitchen was a nice touch but too much space was sacrificed. We didn't cook there but one concern would be that the front door opens into the area where the stove is. It looked like a good way to get burned by boiling water.

All in all, the floor plan was poorly designed and implemented. The furniture was ok and the towels seemed clean but I wouldn't call them "Presidential Suite" quality. The hotel prides itself on their location but parking was always an issue and the views of the lighthouse were great, if you are into that sort of thing.

As for the staff, they seemed courteous enough and perhaps with more training could handle the basic functions of checking people in and out of the hotel. They seemed overloaded with handling the responsibilities of answering phone calls and administering front desk duties. The result was a bottleneck of guests trying to check in and check out. It was not an efficient or smooth process. It created an atsmosphere of impatience that was unpleasant. In fact, they did not even ask if we enjoyed our stay.

In the end, I do not feel as though I got what I paid for. I cannot in good faith recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight on our way to Florida. The ladies at the front were very nice and personable. The room was very spacious and nicely furnished. Everything was spotless and I felt we were being hosted by a courteous and professional staff.

We will certainly return when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmann17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Overall for the location you get for the price you pay is great. The free breakfast is a little better than quick grab and go at a gas station. The rooms were clean and the hotel was overall. The only issue I had was with amount of beer being drank by other hotel guest at the hotel pool. Most hotels have a no alcohol sign around their pool, just so they keep with the family friendly enviroment. Besides that it was a good stay, with a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawgssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family and I stopped on our way to Flordia. Went out of out way to stay here. The Ocean Inn Suites was a nice place. "But" was very disapponited with the towels and wash clothes. They where very worn,dingy,and thin. I was scared to wash with the wash clothes. They even had a smell to them. It seems to me that a nice place this was, they should invest in new towels and wash clothes.

Room Tip: Ask for clean towels and wash clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prancer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

At Ocean Inn and Suites, we absolutely strive to make your stay welcoming, comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. The acknowledgements and guest feedbacks, which are usually overwhelmingly positive, are to reinforce what we are doing right and what we need to improve. We are also very committed to doing whatever it takes to make it right when a guest is less than 100% satisfied. Dear Prancer98, we want to let you know that we have taken your comments to heart and have already ordered more sets of new towels for the hotel !! If you would have brought it to our attention, we would have gladly changed the towels for you. Thank you for your valuable feedback, we apologize for any inconvenience and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
668 reviews
1.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
158 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Address: 599 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4723
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $114 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing