We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Camp for Adults”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Simons Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 30, 2013

That title best describes it! Or perhaps: Coastal Natural Reserve with a 4 star treatment.
My lady surprised me with this gift via Travel Zoo for my 50th BD present. We spent 2013 Memorial Day Monday through Wednesday on the Island. Neither of us knew what to expect, and were both unexpectedly and very happily surprised with the entire experience!
You take a boat ride over from the very commercial St. Simons Island, trekking downstream via the Hampton River, transporting you dockside to a disconnect from the rest of the world. A main lodge and several cabins house the cycles of travelers coming and going, no more than about 30 guests at a time. No TV's here. There is a wi-fi signal that threads you back to the world; but I really couldn't care less that there was no cable after day one. You have free run of the place be it, bicycles, boats, the bar, hikes, critters...whatever; there's a daily activity list of multiple to-dos for the day and super friendly folks to guide you along the way. "Summer Camp for Adults"...really a good description, but not-so-whiny-adventurous kids may like it too. At the beginning, middle, and end of the day, the dinner bell rings presenting you with an outstanding bed&breakfast style 4 star meal with your fellow islanders. It's a coastal island, so...expect mosquitoes and flies, but there is plenty of 'bug juice' (as the guides call it) and spray to combat them. Nevertheless, I have to agree with most of the other reviewers...the trip is totally worth the experience, and I will return to this seaside secret on the Georgia coast one day soon.
PIP

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin past the pool
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday trip and found the Little St. Simons Island experience to be better than you expected. Yes, being a small all-inclusive resort with a multitude of daily outdoor activities and family style meals, I can see how you could call it "adult camp." We do our best to make our guest stays as easy and relaxing as possible by taking care of everything you need and making it all included. Thanks for staying with us and writing a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 240 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at LSSI five or six times throughout the years. I live in Savannah, about 70 miles away, so I am familiar with the weather, the flora and fauna, and the insect life. Nevertheless, this remains one of my favorite retreats in the world. The food is outstanding, the accomodations are comfortable, and the ambiance is totally geared towards R&R. It's our favorite weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Michael Cottage is great for privacy. If you have eight people or more, rent Cedar or River.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heeldawg1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us again. There's no better compliment than repeat guests! We're so glad you find Little St. Simons Island to be one of your favorite retreats and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Decided to try this adult camp with luxury staff and food as a change because of included activities. Unfortunately we had a very unusual weather episode for spring in the southeast with 4 days of continuous rain storm. That limited our activities to hiking and biking because the wind was too strong to enjoy the beach or kayaking or boating.
The staff were great and accommodating. The food excellent and generous. The staff and visiting naturalists were amazing. Saw deer, gators, armadillos, raccoons, and more variety of birds that could be imagined. Accommodations were comfortable and unique.

Room Tip: We stayed at cedar house which was convenient and comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ldenicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear that the weather didn't cooperate for you to be able to enjoy more of the activities we have to offer. That was an unusually wet couple of days. Despite the weather, I'm glad you were able to see lots of wildlife and enjoyed the food, staff and accomodations. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Looking for a quiet, relaxing alternative to beach condos and crowds, we discovered the lovely hidden jewel called Little Saint Simon's Island and its sole retreat, The Lodge. From the moment we left our car at the marina and boarded the shuttle boat which whisked us along the bird-filled marshes, we sensed we were heading for something very spectacular. We were not disappointed. The guest program which consists of "adventures" was varied, fun, and never mandatory. Lead by several wonderful naturalists (Stasia, Britt, Ben, to name a few) we looked for giant diamondback rattlesnakes on a "Herp Adventure", rode bikes under canopies draped with Spanish moss on "Bike Adventures", rode safari style in trucks on a nighttime "Beach
Adventure" to see hundreds of giant horseshoe crabs mating, paddled through the narrow marsh waterways on a "Kayak Adventure", along with walking the beach in our own good time observing the multitude of local and migratory sea birds. We ate like royalty...roasted oysters hot from the fire, succulent white Georgia shrimp prepared in the most exquisite ways by Chef Matthew...fresh fruits and vegetables, a low country boil served by the ocean, 6:00 Happy Hour, and on and on. We spent hours after dinner one evening on a swing hung from an ancient live oak beside the channel, watching porpoise play at sundown. The magic was endless....and we were only there for 2 nights! We want to go back in the winter when the fireplaces are alive. It was so hard to leave!

Room Tip: The rooms are large, rustic and comfortable, reflecting the history of the island. Who needs a fitne...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

It's really great to hear how much you enjoyed the splendor of Little St. Simons Island as well as the Naturalist led adventures and low country cousine. As you found out, there is so much to see and do that you really need to stay at least four or five nights to take it all in. Even then, as many of our returning guests will attest, you always leave the island wanting more. Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Bike riding. Bird watching. Alligators. Fishing. Kayaking. Motor boats. Great naturalist guides. 7 miles of private beach. Cocktail hour. Good food. Interesting guests with great dinner conversation. An amazing accommodating staff. A comfy bed. Asleep by 10 and up before dawn to ride to the beach to see the sunrise. We had a marvelous time. I can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Helen House. Historic house with 3 rooms close to lodge.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwtraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Lodge on Little St. Simons Island and taking the time to write a review. I'm happy to hear that you had a marvelous time and enjoyed all of the natural aspects of the island as well as the creature comforts we offer and our accomodating staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is so very nice when you have heard about and wanted to visit a place for years, finally go and it is everything and more of what you wanted it to be

This was so much fun....the staff was great, the island pristine and beautiful, the accommodations wonderful and the food outstanding (as you can guess I liked the place)

Even the only service issue (which was probably my fault...had booked on phone while stationed in Kandahar) was handled quickly and completely

We will come back year after year

Room Tip: If just two of you- ask for Tom's House...a little off by itself, fireplace, screened porch and...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jameslfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Lodge on Little St. Simons Island and taking the time to write a review. I'm so happy to hear that you were finally able to stay with us and everything exceeded your expectations. I'm also glad to hear that even though you had a service issue that it was handled to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a wonderful private island that has kept itself pristine. The guest program offers three meals a day, served family style. After being outdoors all day, it is great to meet new people, eat, have a drink and relax to share experiences. The on staff naturalists will provide programs tailored to a variety of interests and you can be as active or relaxed as you want to be. Nature is all around you to be enjoyed and explored.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Townhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our family style dining and variety of Naturalist led programs. I could't agree more that Little St. Simons Island is a wonderful and pristine island with so much nature to be enjoyed and explored. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
11.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
11.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
122 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
16.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island

Address: 1000 Hampton River Club Marina Dr, Post Office Box 21078, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $450 - $775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prized for its pristine natural beauty, gracious hospitality and secluded worlds-away appeal, Little St. Simons Island is a private barrier island just off the Georgia coast. One of the crown jewels of Georgia's famed Golden Isles, Little St. Simons Island offers 7 miles of deserted beaches and 10,000 acres of undeveloped wilderness for exploration and relaxation. Privately owned, Little St. Simons Island has retained the charm and unhurried pace of coastal living. Moss draped live oaks and glistening marshes surround cozy accommodations in six charming cottages for no more than 32 overnight guests. The island is a paradise for nature lovers and offers a host of recreational, naturalist-led experiences including birding, boating, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, bicycling, interpretive tours, beachcombing, fishing and swimming. Accessible only by boat, this extraordinary natural sanctuary-among the last of its kind anywhere- welcomes your discovery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Little St. Simons Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing