We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bennie's Red Barn

Bennie's Red Barn
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Bennie's Red Barn, the oldest privately owned restaurant on Saint Simon's Island! Nestled between beautiful live oaks, Bennie's has been a favorite of locals and tourists since 1954. No visit to the Golden Isles is complete without a visit to Bennie's! At the Red Barn you can enjoy steaks grilled to perfection over an old-fashioned open oak flame, seafood, chicken, or spaghetti in a classic, family-friendly setting. If you had visited us back in 1954, you would have enjoyed the best steak and seafood served in the Golden Isles. Some things never change! Our steaks are still cut fresh and cooked over an old-fashioned wood fire and our fresh, local seafood is brought in daily. The Club at Bennie's is a rustic, indoor and outdoor venue located just next door to the Barn. Enjoy a cocktail at our famous TREEBAR or watch the game on either of the 2 big screens. Two outdoor fireplaces and multiple heaters will keep you warm in the winter while the ice cold beer, ceiling fans, and AC will cool you in the summer. The Club is southern casual and ready for your party, but we can help you gussie it up for a more formal event. Experience an Island tradition at Bennie's Red Barn! We look forward to serving you soon.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
359 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food with great service in a quaint atmosphere. Very attentive staff (Ethel) made me feel at home. Singing waiter (not mine) was a nice touch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 7turns7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    112
    72
    29
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Steaks must have been FROZEN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Red Barn has always been one of our favorite Island restaurants but our recent visit was very disappointing. We all had different steaks...TBone, Ribeye and Fillet and although we didn't complain to our waiter because he was so nice and we knew it wasn't his fault, the steaks were not fit to eat! The ribeye I ordered Med Rare was RARE and COLD in the center as though it had been FROZEN and was too tough to eat and had absolutely no TASTE at all....just a big hunk of meat. The other steaks were equally as bad. There was also an order of fried oysters that we shared for an app and they had a grease taste, not oyster. Our server was excellent... older , small frame African American guy with glasses . We dine there at least 4 times a year but doubt we will ever return after this last visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank doodiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visited here and eaten dinner many times but not what it is cracked up to be!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I visited one final time here. We were so disappointed with the food. We believe it has gone further downhill. Food was pretty much tasteless and with absolutely no flare. We visit many restaurants but this restaurant is so over rated. Salad is bland and my filet had no flavor.
Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. As I have said we have tried this restaurant with larger crowds and thought that was the problem, but obviously not the case.
I have never written a review like this but thought it necessary this time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Night Out With Customers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We took some of our best customers for dinner, seating for 12. Table was ready when we arrived, water and salads were ready and dinner selections were great. Expect to spend some time for dinner, but we came early to visit with customers anyway. Great atmosphere, special singer keeping things lively, waiter was terrific. Great food, and we all enjoyed the exerience with customers!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hvilledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
172 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Skip this joint, not at all what used to be. 2 hours to eat once seated.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I'm afraid to say they are now beyond help. 2 hours to get our meal, place was 20% occupied on Friday night. 100% joke. I own home on Jekyll island and was with 2 homeowners from SSI, and 6 guests . This place is an institution but Unfortunatley has gone down hill these past years. This was our last visit , well miss Bennies after 20 years of memories.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kenuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennie's Red Barn also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Bennie's Red Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing