We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - long wait for dinner”
Review of Barbara Jean's

Barbara Jean's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Carnesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food - long wait for dinner”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We visited Barbara Jean's on St. Simons for dinner. Everyone's food was very good, which we expected since we have also eaten at the location on Amelia Island. However, it was an extremely long wait from the time we ordered until we received our food. When you have hungry folks, that's not such a good thing. Pricing is about what you would expect for beach locations serving seafood. I had the crab cakes, which are always delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    369
    164
    57
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I had the coconut shrimp. They were encased in batter so thick that I found it very distasteful. I had to peel it off just to eat them. When the batter is so many times thicker that the meat, it just does not work(at least not for me). I would have sent them back, but we had already waited so long. My sides very but average as well( the mashed potatoes were not very warm but the red beans and rice was ok). Barbara Jeans's has a wonderful reputation, but they did not live up to it for me.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberton, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We enjoyed our meal. Atmosphere and location were excellent. I had a special of the day which was a crabcake and shrimp sandwich. It was excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reynolds357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pink turkey not for me”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Today> I ordered the turkey dinner, 2 pieces of sliced turkey on plate, 1 - partially PINK! I asked for manager, and she arrived fairly soon. I showed her and she wanted to know if she could bring me another piece. I said no (Really?? bring me "another piece" of most likely pink as well???? No thanks B-Jean!!!!). The manager did not offer anything else in consideration of my ordeal. Unfortunately, I had eaten a couple of bites prior to seeing the PINK MEAT!! She said, "I'm going back there and check it out".

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holy Greasy Spoon, Batman!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Barbara Jean's is clean, friendly, attentive, and offers a great selection of drinks and entrees.

Definitely not a place for the health conscious, but enjoyable as a "night off" from your diet.

Helpful?
Thank IanGrahamAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Jean's also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Barbara Jean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing