We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch and Dinner”
Review of Barbara Jean's

Barbara Jean's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Gibsonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Lunch and Dinner”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a must try place for lunch and dinner. A Wide variety of entrees and many fresh veggies to choose from. The crab cakes, shrimp and squash casserole are my favorites here. They bring you bread that is very good too! On the main street leading to the pier, so not much of a view, but there is outside seating if you prefer. I will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    381
    174
    59
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Braselton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Barbara Jean does it again”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This restaurant is by far, one of the best on St. Simons Island. Every time we go to St. Simon, we eat here because the food is always superb.
I had the roast beef dinner. It was so good, I had to force myself to stop eating it because I was so full. I ordered mine with the squash casserole and cole slaw. Both were delicious. The slaw was just right. Not spicy and not too sweet.
Another notable mention is the bread basket they bring out. The pumpkin bread is fabulous. The corn bread is great if you like spicy - it's made with little bits of jalapeno.
The wait staff are always friendly and knowledgable. There is usually a wait to get into the restaurant, they don't take reservations, so get there by at least 6 pm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on St. Simon's!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Had looked on Trip Advisor for a place to have breakfast and the top rated one was closed - and are we glad it was! Across the street we found Barbara Jean's. Everything from the beginning was great - the atmosphere was cozy, the hostess friendly and prompt, the service staff attentive AND the FOOD - fantastic! They start by bringing a plentiful basket of freshly baked breads, your choice. We were full before we even got our breakfast! We ordered an omelet and pancakes and both were some of the best we ever had! So next time you are in St. Simons
go to BJ's - we can't wait to try it for lunch and dinner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahoe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best meal we had on SSI”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

After a week on SSI, we discussed our favorite meal. Barbara Jean's was the winner. Our family of 5 had: crab cakes (as good as advertised, grilled chicken (great marinade - best chicken I have had in years) and a bowl of potato soup. Sides we enjoyed included: Mac & Cheese, squash casserole, stewed tomatoes, white cheddar grits, etc. All were excellent. The bread basket they bring before the meal was outstanding! We will definitely return. Well done!

Helpful?
Thank CU88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“we always eat here when on SSI”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

a personal favorite, Coconut battered shrimp for me (always), crab cake dinner for my wife (always); great sides, love the dirty rice; we had about a 30 minute wait but worth it; met a gentleman in like from Fort Wayne, IN, he said he returns for "shrimp and grits" always.....it looked pretty good....a reason to return yet again; enjoy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Jean's also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Barbara Jean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing