We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third year in a row - loved the Shrimp and Grits”
Review of Barbara Jean's

Barbara Jean's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Altanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Third year in a row - loved the Shrimp and Grits”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

For the past three years we've had the Shrimp and Grits here, and they have been wonderful each time. My husband is not a huge fan of grits, yet this dish makes him very happy!

We've also really liked the squash casserole, and broccoli and rice. Very much the way my grandmother used to make them. Truly worth checking out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iced Coffee lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    369
    164
    57
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newtown,Pa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home cooking but nothing special”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went to Barbara Jean's based on the crab cake reviews. We found them quite disappointing. They were lacking crabmeat, full of filler, and overall very mushy. The other meals were average and the sides were very reminiscent of home cooking. It should be noted that almost every side dish is prepared with butter. Our waitress was very good and kept up with everyone's needs. The atmosphere is quite dated and takes away from the dining experience. The bread basket was one of the best we had on the island though. If you are looking for a good crab cake dinner venture elsewhere on the island!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank just4funNewtown_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
574 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Home cooking away from home”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Like others, we went in and out of several other Mallory Street establishments (all disappointing) before deciding to trust our dinner to Barbara Jean's. The food and service is very much on the level of really good home cooking--no fancy presentations or complex seasoning, no trendy vegetables or foofoo embellishments, just tasty southern food that arrives hot and fast. Chicken-fried anything, crab cakes, shrimp fritters, etc all come with your choices from a long list of side dishes like dirty rice, greens, stewed cabbage and so forth. A decent selection of wines by the glass (important, as before we found Barbara Jean's we left another nearby restaurant after discovering that while they had a good selection of beers, for wine they only offered really cheap crap like Barefoot and Yellow Tail) helps round out the experience. And the locals seem to agree.

Hope three stars doesn't seem too harsh. I'd give it three and half if there were degrees of difference, but in light of the kind of food and elegance I just gave four and five stars to in Savannah and Jekyll Island, three stars for casual, good home cooking is appropriate. Certainly, nothing about it was below average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust, Grove, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Go Here and Forget the Others”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Until we got to Barbara Jean's we had been having totally bad experiences with other dining places on the island. True, it was Christmas week and maybe the others did not have their best game on, but Barbara Jean's did just fine. In fact, after a few stumbles elsewhere, we decided for our next trip to just eat here and forget the other places. One member of our group had the famous crab cakes and pronounced them perfect. Others in the group had seafood or grilled pork chops. The Southern-style veggies were lovely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekilgo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolute must stop on the island”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent meals and variety of fresh bread brought to table so good almost couldnt finish my meal. I have tried a variety of the meals and sides never to be disappointed. Family friendly and close to water so have a nice walk on pier maybe then will have room for dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNT1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Jean's also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Barbara Jean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing