We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good portions for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbara Jean's

Barbara Jean's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good portions for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

On a place like SSI, all the restaurants seem to be overpriced. This one is well priced for the portions. I got the chicken fried chicken and it was huge, in addition to the two sides and bread (3 types) that are included. You will leave stuffed in the belly and not broke in the wallet. The bill for my family was under $50 (2 adults/2 kids), that is $20-30 cheaper than the usual island restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dawgssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    353
    152
    56
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“After two days I'm still puzzled.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Decor is hideous but will please that certain 70's fanatic. I don't know what to make of the menu. Turkey and dressing, cajun shrimp and grits, seared fish - there is no genre for this menu. I had the shrimp and grits. I was expecting, well, cheest shrimp and grits with some andouille perhaps. I got a bowl of grits topped with this translucent-brown sauce and what I'd peg as some of those lowfat shrink wrapped sausages from the frig section of the supermarket. The shrimp were overcooked and curled up. The tastes in this dish, to me, were just incompatible. I think the dish probably has a fan or two but it borderline disgusted me.

Shrimp fritters were grainy, cornbread was dry. Chocolate 'stuff' was good. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Gotta love the bread!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Barbara Jean's is often recommended, and it lives up to the hype. Good comfort food, clean restaurant, friendly service, and you've got to love the bread basket. Wheat rolls, jalapeno corn bread, and pumpkin bread come with your order. Yum. Get there early for dinner, though, or be prepared to wait. This place is popular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank amtedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We were taken care of right away. Not much of a wait for our meals. Food was tasty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Friendly staff and patrons. Large food portions. Enjoyed the grilled salmon, and tuna, fried catfish and shrimp. Key lime tart was also very good though I had to take it with me since I was full.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank citigirlkpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Four of us had dinner on a weekday night. Portions were very large, as were sizes of water and ice tea (which may have been best ice tea I've ever had). Food was a little disappointing - not bad, but we had items they were supposedly known for (including crab cakes)and had better at several other resturants in our Georgia vacation. Service was fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mct3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Jean's also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Barbara Jean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing