We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Casual Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Half Shell

The Half Shell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're a casual, family friendly restaurant with contemporary coastal American cuisine. Follow us on Facebook & Instagram!
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Casual Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Tried The Half Shell after seeing some good reviews and was not disappointed. This is a very laid back and casual spot. Staff was very nice and service was quick and exact. Oysters were great to start, then we had the crab cake sandwich and the grouper special. Both were excellent. Portions were ample but not too much to make you feel overdone. They only have one dessert, a slice of cake with ice cream. Whatever you do, get it, you will not be disappointed, it is out of the world good. Can't wait to come back to SSI and eat here again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    129
    45
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

A local business person recommended that we try this place, as my husband loves oysters and they were featured for happy hour. He found the oysters to be only so so, my Caesar salad with shrimp was limp and the waitstaff expected customers to know the specials and happy hour deals without being told. I will not be returning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 3boysmom1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rankchef, Owner at The Half Shell, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing to dine with us and taking the time to review our restaurant. We depend on the reputation we have built with the local community in helping us to attract new customers. It is truly disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy their recommendation or your dining experience with us.

We source our oysters from the east coast, typically Virginia and Maryland, and have had much success with them in feedback from our customers.

A limp caesar salad is unacceptable. We order only romaine hearts to help ensure that, and the salads made to order.

It is not commonplace for the servers to assume that guests know the specials and happy hour offerings. They usually inform guests as part of their greeting.

Again, thank you for your review. It seems that we missed the mark with you and would appreciate the opportunity to change your opinion of us on your next visit to St. Simons Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Half Shell is all Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great Vibe. Amazing. Oysters. Overall a very good place to go where the locals go.

It's my third time there and alway good.

Helpful?
1 Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fresh food and laid back environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Half Shell has a nice laid back coastal feel to the inside while providing plenty of variety on the menu to appease the entire family. We ordered the crab cake BLT which was very light and fresh with an delicious airy bun. This came with a side of bacon wrapped green beans. That would have been one way for my mother to get me to eat beans when I was a child. They were kind of sweet and had a nice texture. My wife ordered the crab bisque and calamari. Both were also fresh and the calamari had a mango dip that was a nice touch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sambrown50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Based on previous reviews, my family visited the Half Shell for dinner on a Thursday night in late July. Not having to wait in line during prime vacation time during the dinner hour should have been a tip-off, since every other restaurant we'd previously visited on the island had a long wait time. Our young server was attentive and pleasant and our food was delivered rather quickly. But unfortunately, those were the highlights of our visit. My crab cake BLT, which was greatly anticipated, was completely bland - absolutely no flavor at all. The tiny bacon tidbits sprinkled on top added little to no flavor, and the accompanying sauce was runny and flavorless. My DIL's special-of-the-day fish tacos were bland and not so special. The highlight of my meal were the onion rings - obviously not the frozen variety. My son had the fish sandwich, which he said was very good - sure wish I had ordered that instead of the disappointing crab cake sandwich. There are some very good restaurants on St. Simons - I suggest you skip this place and find one of those establishments...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gigi12345_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rankchef, Owner at The Half Shell, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for bringing your family to dine with us and taking the time to review our restaurant. We are truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us, especially since you ordered two of our best selling and highest rated items: Fish Tacos and Crab BLT. The crab cakes are loaded with lump & claw blue crab and a bit of holy trinity cooked down in whole butter, then served with our own remoulade sauce on a toasted brioche roll. The fish tacos are blackened with our seasoning made in-house and served in griddled whole wheat soft tortillas with sweet chili slaw and cilantro cream. It is disappointing, in deed, to read that you found these two items bland.

We can only hope that you provide us with the opportunity to change your opinion of us upon your next visit to St. Simons. In reading one of your other reviews that you are an avid shrimp & grits fan, maybe our barbeque shrimp & grits will give us that opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Shell also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Half Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing