We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Half Shell

The Half Shell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're a casual, family friendly restaurant with contemporary coastal American cuisine. Follow us on Facebook & Instagram!
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family and I decided to take a chance on a new restaurant, and it turned out to be the best dinner we had all week at St Simon's! I would recommend the shrimp ceviche, the bacon wrapped green beans, and DEFINITELY the Oysters Frederica. The food is so innovative and fresh, and the owner was friendly enough to come out and visit with us to chat about our dining experience. I will definitely be eating at The Half Shell next year during my annual visit to the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    127
    44
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on Saturday night, the place was pretty busy. There was a short wait when we arrived. Our waitress was very pleasant and answered any questions we had. The food was good. Overall, I would recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank mjj1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make a stop or two here on your visit to St. Simons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

One of my favorite places. Exec Chef Conner is a master of flavors and creativity. Prob the best fried shrimp around and no shortage of fresh seafood offerings masterfully prepared.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
372 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“The food was delicious...the atmosphere is really nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We went to the Half Shell based on the reviews on TA and were not disappointed earlier this week. From the outside it looks very small and non-assuming, however, when you enter, it is warm with wood everywhere - much like a cottage feel. The greeters were extremely friendly and offered a seat immediately. We arrived for dinner around 6 p.m. and it seemed that there were many locals enjoying the food as well because everyone seemed to know each other. There is also a large party room located in the rear of the restaurant, which can hold a lot more people and thus the initial impression that this is a small place, was tossed when we saw how big the inside really is. There's a fully stocked bar and tv's mounted (3) on the walls so you can enjoy the World Cup game or any sporting event if you like. There's a really large table at the entrance like a booth set up for a larger group - which is very nice. Many nautical decorations are featured in the restaurant which give it a true beach/cottage feel. It was quite comfortable and cozy. The hubs and I enjoyed the specials of the evening which included striped bass sliced open and fried to create a taco and stuffed with chorizo sausage and other items. It was served with a wonderful side dish....I enjoyed the cold cucumber soup with a crab relish that was garnished with fennel frons. YUM! I enjoyed it so much that I ordered another bowl. It was delicious. Then we ordered their signature dessert - sticky yellow cake. Don't be put off by the name, it is a yellow pound cake, covered with a cream cheese frosting and baked..served warm with vanilla ice cream..I know - sounds odd - and we thought the same - but when the chef said that it was their signature dessert and so popular - - we thought -- when in Rome.....it was to die for....almost licked the plate.....it was SO good. This is a meal and evening we will not soon forget - it was totally enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GVL605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We tried this restaurant based on a recommendation of an SSI resident. The food was stellar!! Must try the grilled oysters and the bacon wrapped green beans! Family friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Jax295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Shell also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Half Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing