We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too high...”
Review of The Half Shell

The Half Shell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We're a casual, family friendly restaurant with contemporary coastal American cuisine. Follow us on Facebook & Instagram!
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too high...”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I think that $9.99 is a little too much for 6 oysters. The food was good and the staff were great just a little high for oysters.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    144
    52
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Half Shell Goes All Out”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate here twice because the first meal was so good, we just had to come back. I had fresh grouper, perfectly grilled and perfectly complemented by the sweet chili slaw. The bacon on the bacon-wrapped green beans had a brown-sugary glaze on it. Yum. Finally, dessert - the sticky butter cake with vanilla ice cream. I'm still swooning! It was total sugarbutter overload that sent me home in a lovely haze. I recommend splitting it because it is so rich and intense. The service was attentive and courteous and place has a nice feel of casual ease.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for vacation. We came in for lunch and the food was fabulous! The cheese grits are some of the best I have ever eaten!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammy0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
“Happy Happy Hour”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great Happy Hour Specials. Good atmosphere. Good service. Good place to sit inside and watch sports or sit outisde and people watch! We didnt eat there just enjoyed a few beers. No pressure by service workers to move along, encouraged to just sit back and enjoy our evening!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nojomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pet friendly eatery”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The fried oysters and onion rings were some of the best on the Island but what sold me was the stellar service and the sidewalk dining that is pet friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Shell also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Half Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing