We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip of on ticket price”

Maritime Center at Historic Coast Guard Station
Attraction details
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rip of on ticket price”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

When you buy your ticket for the Coast Guard Station you have to purchase a ticket for the light house museum, that is closed for repair. What a rip off. You should only have to pay for what you go see not something that is closed!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onarga, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stopped here as the second leg of our St. Simons Lighthouse tour. Plenty of Coast Guard history. Two floors to review, with the option to go to the top and view the town or the beach. Good for kids ages 9+.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting insight into early Coast Guard operations along the coast!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited the Coast Guard Station and found the place to be very interesting, both for its service during WWII and ecological subjects of coastal Georgia. The staff was friendly, and the self-guided tour was easy to follow and for us, the right pace. We made it thru the tour and up to the observation deck for a view of the beach and the island that made the cost of admission worthwhile. It wasn't very crowded on the day we were there, so we took our time and explored the exhibits and listened to the presentations at our own pace. The price of admission here also lets you into the light house at the village end of Saint Simons Island...a two for one deal that helps stretch your dollars. Another thing we liked was that the beach itself is "pet friendly" and we returned later with our dog Maddy for some swimming and beach time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historical Site”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Bit of history about the Coast Guard, how it got started. interesting. Again staff @ the museum very friendly. Can tour @ your own pace.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrewRy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“history at your finger tips”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Be sure to climb the last steps to see out side. the docent is very helpful. We were able to reach by bike because we stayed at the King and Prince

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mattapoisett73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maritime Center at Historic Coast Guard Station also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Maritime Center at Historic Coast Guard Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing