We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too big for its britches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Connecticut
121
Reviewed May 2, 2006

Sea Island's arrogance has lost me as a customer for life. The front desk's attitude effectively turned me off from staying there - at $1500 a night for with (illogically) two queen beds with a marsh (not ocean) view, I wouldn't think they could afford to alienate many prospective guests. Upon renting a house in the area (a beautiful beachfront HOUSE on St. Simon's for slightly over a third that price per night), I thought I would get the wife some spa treatments at Sea Island. "Oh, no. Our services are strictly for Sea Island guests!" If you're looking to have your ego stroked through "exclusivity," Sea Island might be a fine place to go. If you'd prefer to leave the egos at work and enjoy a relaxing vacation, there are plenty of better options on the East Coast.

Stayed: May 2005
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 225 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2006

My husband and I vacationed at the Cloister in July 2005 on a family trip. The rooms and kid's activities were awesome! The food was above average but not excellent. The resort is quite spread out and the ocean view rooms are not actually ocean view. Regardless, we had an awesome vacation and we would recommend the Cloister, particilarly for families with young children.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NCL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Knasas City, Missouri
15
Reviewed September 26, 2005

I was a guest for dinner on September 19, 2005. What a treat! THE FOOD AND THE SERVICE WERE OUTSTANDING! I don't know when I have enjoyed myself more. Dinner was 8 courses with wine pairings and the selections were wonderfully prepared, delicious to taste and delightfully served.

The Terrace restaraunt is lovely and although others enjoyed the space with us we felt we were in a very intimate setting.

Perfect for our small family gathering.

Many thanks to the staff and the chefs who served with a true servant's heart! What an Oasis!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2004

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary by staying at the Lodge (3 nights). I'm relatively particular (spoiled by business travel) and I thought The Lodge was wonderful. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by our butler until we left we experienced nothing but friendly service (available but never fawning), delicious meals (had trouble deciding at every meal), and luxurious accomodations. The cookies were delicious! If you like the luxuries of a high-end hotel but without any overt ostentation, the Lodge is a good choice. We also had dinner one night at The Cloisters. It was PACKED with children. Choose The Lodge if you're looking for a quiet place without children.

5  Thank MYCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
North Carolina
350
Reviewed July 1, 2004

From the moment you enter the gates you get the feeling that the entire staff is actually glad to have you as a guest. A butler greets you and takes you on a tour of the facility and to your room. The rooms are inviting and very comfortable. Nightly cold milk and cookies delivered to rooms if desired and continental breakfast in lobby. The facility is beautiful but the staff is what sets this property apart. Always gracious and accomodating. They should write the book on hospitality and service. The golf courses are beautifully maintained and playable. The one disaapointment is the lack of beach acess or pool. Although it overlooks the ocean no beach at high tiide. The Cloister does have a nice beach club which is a 10 minute ride. Truely,The Lodge is a special destination!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2004

First class resort and spa. golf course a short ride, food very good, gift shops classy-tennis and golfers will love it, pool/bar area nice, service first class, food was very good, bungalows and area beautiful.
really loved it. Homes on Sea Island beautiful, great area to walk around! Didn't see many kids, very fancy.

3  Thank luv2cruise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
595 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
753 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#10 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $342 - $746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete luxury and world class golf at these two properties in Sea Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing