We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living in a dream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Doesn't get better than this! Very low key, very elegant, beautiful views , incredible service! This is the sister property to the Cloister at Sea Island. Also a wonderful place to stay. The properties amenities include golf, spa, beach club and great restaurants. This is the ultimate relaxing vacation spot!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the golf course and water. Some do not have balconies but even so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelaannapolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    17
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
41
98
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newyork
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have been coming here for several years now. This time with my girlfriend from Manhattan. It continues to deliver the best service and maintains the high quality standards. I hope the tradition continues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkscuba400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Lodge last weekend for a wedding at the Cloister and had a terrific experience. Friendly valet staff greeted our arrival and check-in was accomplished in our room by Ron, our butler for the weekend. Room was large and luxurious with great bedding and high end furnishings. Nice flat screen TV, large closets and bathroom with huge walk-in shower. Great view of the golf course and ocean beyond. Checkout was a breeze with bags packed in trunk of car and two ice cold bottles of water in the car drink holders. Five star service and property. We will return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ATLFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Back from another outstanding week at the Lodge @ Sea Island. Weather was great along with the accommodations. Always a warm feeling to be greeted by Patrick at the front door. We have known him for 7 years now covering 6 visits to the Lodge. Resort is under new management, but most of the people have not changed, which is what makes going back each year such a joy. Staff is as attentive as ever, and always ready to serve.
This trip we did a day trip to the Okefenokee Swamp. About a 90 minute car ride, but well worth the experience. Real life "Swamp People"! And the gators are no theme park prompts. If you like the real thing, take the ride.

Room Tip: Still best bet on third floor facing south (golf and water view) or east (golf and ponds with a gato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I hate to write this review as I really don't want to give up the location of this wonderful resort. Our family found Sea Island as we were searching desperately for a five star family resort like the Breakers. Well, we found it. Gorgeous grounds, lots too do, great food and Southern Hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diropswpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were supposed to stay at Sea Palms Inn, but were transferred here when we found the Inn was closed. Our room was spacious but seemed "old", a little dated. There was no microwave as we were supposed to have. The bathroom was very large and spacious and laid out well, if a bit dated. There was a nice marsh view by the dining table. We were comfortable and felt secure even with the older accommodations feel of the room, it was still nice. We received breakfast tickets, as our booking was supposed to include a breakfast and were told there would be a buffet. However, when we arrived at the breakfast dining room, very formal and nice looking, if older, inside, we found out that we either were to choose from a lower priced side of a menu or order some other breakfast items and upgrade with additional cost. We chose the latter choice, not realizing that our quick bite of breakfast was going to turn into literally an hour wait (with NO other guests to serve in the room) and when the food arrived it was not appetizing to being skimpy portions. Our very nice server seemed apologetic and they did end up comping our beverages, but we had morning plans and our unacceptable hour of waiting couldn't make up for time lost. I just really don't understand what happened and if the facility doesn't want to actually serve food to customers they should close the restaurant and not offer a breakfast. The acceptable choice would be to set up the buffet as other facilities offer so guests can dine and leave. As this was supposed to be an upscale facility, it made it even more of a horrendous experience. It was almost like a punishment to sit through than a service. I have to remind myself that we did pay for this feature when we booked our room, so it wasn't a privilege, it was their responsibility they didn't fulfill very well. I would not recommend anyone to try to dine here. Better breakfast at the local fast food establishments at about a fourth of their pricey menu costs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lachase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'm a member, homeowner, and longtime visitor (40 years) and I've noticed a significant reduction in service and food quality. The pool area does not have the ability with peak loads. The food is good but not worth five stars. It's hard to watch a favorite place not do well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Dpr27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Property: The Lodge at Sea Island
Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete luxury and world class golf at these two properties in Sea Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing