We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sisters' weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Inn and Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We love this inn! My 2 sisters and I stayed here last weekend. We just parked our car and walked around town from our charming base of operations. The rooms are well-furnished with lovely linens, up-to-date decor, and everything was in good repair. We have no complaints about the service. In fact, Wanda was at the front desk on Sunday morning when we needed a computer and she was most helpful and allowing us to use the one in the office. The bartender on Saturday was a busy professional with plenty of Southern charm. The live music was awesome. Every morning there was a continental breakfast that included fruit, yogurt, every type of muffin and pastry imaginable, you could make your own mini waffles or make regular toast and English muffins. The coffee was available 24/7 and was very good - much appreciated on those cold, blustery days. The location is great - step out of the pub or your room and you're literally in front of restaurants, other bars, and shops. And just a little farther down is the beach and the lighthouse! My sisters and I are Southern girls who recognize great hospitality and sincere wamth when we see it. We will definitely be back when it's warmer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Village Inn and Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 435 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2010

We paid more to stay at this inn because it had such a great review from Southern Living. I'd love to know what room they had, because we paid extra $ for a room with a balcony only to be gazing out upon the back alley of a restaurant. The carboard boxes and piles of buckets weren't the view we'd hoped for. There was also a large pole with a transformer just feet from our balcony. The party noise from the street was awful (Saturday) and went well into the night. Also, the street views in the front overlook the Dairy Queen across the street. If you are willing to pay their price for a (tiny) room, demand to get a room that overlooks the courtyard. It is a pretty inn, but there are several nice b&b's in the area that cost much less and have much better views.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalcatcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Was redone and updated in 2004 and they did a great job. Rooms are all very nice and all have wifi. A great place to stay if you are going to visit the islands of the low country

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank csanfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at the Inn and Pub for 3 days in early September for a special celebration. The establishment is quaint, decor is very southern and updated. All personnel were attentive to our every inquiry and need. The atmosphere and ambience are abundant even though the rooms are small in size. There were many nice, unexpected touches in the room. The continental breakfast was quite sufficient for our need. The pool is not olympic size but adequate for splashing and relaxing at time of the day. We certainly would return to the Village Inn when we visit St. Simons Island again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

just want to put in a good word for this quaint lovely inn.
service was excellant, staff wonderfull and honest.
i had left 200.00 dollars under a lamp in my room called the inn they checked and found it and promptly sent me a check.
betty sparks
haydenville ohio

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Although our stay was comfortable, we were disappointed by the unfriendly welcome we received by the front desk staff. The woman asked our name 3 times and could barely make any eye contact. She did not welcome us to the Inn, and it seemed like we were interrupting her by arriving! The breakfast was a huge disappointment. They must have misunderstood the meaning of "deluxe" when they called it a deluxe continental breakfast. The coffee was from a machine and was lousy, and there was nothing more than boxed cereal, some simple pastries, and bagels. A B&B should have better breakfast than an economy motel. The pillows were very uncomfortable in the room, but other than that our room was clean and comfortable. The fixtures in the room were our favorite part. This is a good place to visit if you don't mind spending 200 a night for an average stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

this quaint perfectly located bed and breakfast is wonderful.
most deffinately ask for a room not close to the pub if your not a night owl and dont want to be kept awake at night and SIMPLY ASK for a room overlooking the swimming pool courtyard with the gorgeous ambiance, spanish moss and balcony, not the Dairy Queen! Very simple requests that made all the difference, i myself being a review junkie wish to state that our stay at the Village Inn and Pub was marvelous! it has an excellant location, close to great shops and restaurants, and deserves a better name than just the Village Inn and pub!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieAletha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Simons Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn and Pub

Address: 500 Mallery St, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $137 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Inn and Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn And Pub Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing