We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quaint Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Inn and Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Quaint Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We got a coupon from Groupon to stay here in Feb. on our way back from Florida. It was in a very convenient area, near the shops, restaurants and the large pier. You can walk to all of it. The rooms are very nice although small but they have a pool and balconies off the room. Since it was Feb. after dinner we went back to the main room in the office and ordered drinks from the bar, talked with other guests and watched some TV. They have complimentary coffee, tea and great cookies. The included breakfast was very good. The only negative was no Wi Fi in the rooms but it is available in the main room near the office. It was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the street which was fine in Feb. but I think would be noisy in the summer. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    116
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
52
248
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way back to Florida to break up the long drive. We called ahead and asked if we could stay just for one night, ( there is a 2 night minimum online) they graciously accommodated our request.

We arrived in the afternoon and met a lady sitting behind the desk. She wasn't overly friendly or overly nice, just enough to get her through the day, we imagined. We were shown our room and were pleasantly suprised with it. Clean, roomy and well decorated. We stayed overlooking he pool which was very quiet.

After dinner out, we found ourselves at the pub, which was very small and packed on a Friday night. There was live music and the people watching was amazing! The bartenders were pretty friendly, not overly friendly and the drinks kept flowing. I found that the only way to get a drink was to go to the bar. The table service was lacking.

I be,waive there were more locals than guests in the bar, again I will say the people watching was the highlight of the evening!

This is a nice place to stay and the price is comparable to others nearby.

Room Tip: Get a table early at the pub on live music nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHESAIDYES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
200 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

After a disappointing visit to Jekyll Island this was a delightful pick me up. Initially booking one night we soon changed to two and then three as we started to relax more. We enjoyed room 213 at the back of the Inn, just across from the breakfast area. The room was excellent, large enough, well fitted, spotlessly clean with a small balcony that we did use. We found breakfast more than adequate, a pleasant change from 'usual' pre prepared fried offerings in some of the chains.
Ideally situated just that short walk to the pier area and restaurants (Brogen's burger was fantastic, Iguana's was good too), and beaches which we walked on regularly. Great to talk to the locals fishing etc.
We had no noise problems at all being at the back of the hotel. Staff we met were courteous and helpful. All in all a very good visit. Would we stay again? Being from the UK we enjoy regular road trips around the US it is unlikely we will revisit but if we did - most definitely. We loved St Simon's Island and the Inn was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: 213 was a good room, at the back on the 2nd floor (1st floor to uk customers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Village Inn for 2 nights. We were in a king deluxe room (2 balconies - corner room). The room was comfortable. I liked that the sink was outside of the shower/toilet area, so 1 person could be getting ready while another showered. Service was average, nothing spectacular. No one seemed to go out of the way to help, but then again, we didn't need extra help.

One thing that disappointed us was that the Village Inn isn't a typical b&b (though we knew this going in). The breakfast is just continental rather than a full spread like most. Some protein, such as eggs and meats, would have been appreciated. Also, there are no "perks" like at b & b, such as afternoon tea or drinks or goodies. There is the pub, but of course that costs extra. They do have tea and coffee in the main cottage, but it isn't always available. This isn't a deal-breaker, especially if you know this going in. I just think the inn would be more attractive if they offered such things.

The inn is located just a few blocks from the pier, so we never had to drive anywhere. Lots of restaurants and shops in walking distance. Unfortunately, there is a tavern across the street, so we were awake until about 3:30am from people outside the bar. A room in the back would alleviate this probably.

If you have bicycles, bring them! St. Simons has wonderful bike paths, much of which are shaded. We rode from the inn to the fort (about 6 miles each way), and it was a lovely ride.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are nice, but front rooms are loud due to the bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braveslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked the room on other reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed! Super friendly staff that offered great dining recommendations and things to do. The breakfast was very good with a nice assortment of offerings. The pub inside the lodge is Awesome! Great bartenders and a great place to hang out before or after dinner. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had room 102, excellent corner unit with a great little outside patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Village Inn and Pub was the perfect place for us - nestled among gorgeous live oaks, walking distance to the water, the pier, and all the shops and restaurants in the Village, friendly people and a laid back atmosphere. When we needed a break from the heat, we went back to the Village Inn and took a dip in the lovely pool or read on our private veranda under the shade of the trees. It was a great place to spend our anniversary!

Room Tip: Our veranda faced out over Mallery St. There wasn't a lot of street noise, but we definitely cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were given a "free" upgrade to a larger room due to them knowing it was our anniversary. We were extremely impressed by the room. It looked as if they had recently redone them within the last couple of years. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. There was absolutely nothing we would have wanted changed to the room. There was a small balcony area off the room but it rained the entire time we were there so we didn't get to use it. As other reviewers had said the location is great. It's a short walk to all of the shops and down to the Pier. We loved it being so close to everything. The only time we left was to go eat at another restaurant that was about 3 miles away. I'd highly recommend staying here. There was only a couple of small things we wished was different. We would have preferred to have some hot eggs and meat with our breakfast which they didn't offer. Also the wi-fi was extremely slow and we ended up using the free wi-fi that was offered by the convenience store next door since we were able to get strong enough signal from it to use theirs. However, neither of those things would deter us from wanting to stay here again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Simons Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
584 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
317 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn and Pub

Property: Village Inn and Pub
Address: 500 Mallery St, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Inn and Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Village Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn And Pub Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing