We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn and Pub

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Inn and Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We got lucky booking this place for our first visit to St, Simons. The accommodations were delightful. Having the village so close was a real plus. The bar and staff all added to the great experience.

Room Tip: Check out Southern Soul restaurant to experience real Southern cooking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    108
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
51
231
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

RB is the best . Always friendly and always helpful. Also offers great information on where to eat and how to get there. The whole staff is very helpful.
The whole staff follows suit with this type of service. The breakfasts are always fresh and well received.

Room Tip: Every room I stayed is has been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Village Inn and Pub is a tucked under some sprawling oaks near a tourist area on St. Simons. The rooms are clustered around a courtyard with a pool. The rooms are unique and classically decorated for upscale beach charm. The area of the courtyard is confined--I can't see handicapped people having an easy time of accessing the resort. The rooms are quite comfortable as you would expect in this price range. The office/lobby hosts a continental breakfast and a light dinner. There is live entertainment on the weekend. One of the real benefits of the hotel is being able to walk easily to any restaurant or down to the beach. Once you park your vehicle, there is little reason to move it if you just want to explore the neighborhood. The hotel has made check in and out about as smooth as possible.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter; so are rooms away from the pool courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over spring break..no springbreakers thank god. This is a classy place with just the right touches. We wanted to avoid a chain hotel and get something more personal which is exactly what we got. The architecture is really beautiful, pool,flowers,palm trees, live oaks..all perfect. It is within walking distance to the shops,restaurants,pier and bike rental. The only drawback on Saint Simons is beach...we are used to big beaches...lots of rocks here. Someone needs to let us in on the secret to where the good beaches are for our next visit! We did stay at Jekyll for two nights after this and beaches there are great:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kabbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metter, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pros: Location and staff

Cons: Price, small rooms, staff not always on duty, very thin walls.

Recently stayed at the inn and the location was very nice, but was not worth the price we paid. The walls were paper thin and could hear people on the floors above as well as the people at the pub. The staff was friendly enough, but the inn didn't have somebody on duty at all the time. After informing management of the issues we had with the thin walls and such the problem was promptly addressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DodiLiJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location. Warm and hospitable. Clean room with nice bedding.

RB, the bartender, was friendly and made a very good martini! Enjoyed the entertainment although a bit loud for the size of the room.

On balance a good experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great place to stay on St. Simon's Island. Very charming and quaint but in the middle of St. Simon. Staff was great and very helpful. Very quiet but in the middle of everything. I highly recommend this facility for anyone who visits St Simon.

Room was good-breakfast was fine and it is in a beautiful setting with great landscaping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.2 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#5 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#7 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Simons
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Simons
#8 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn and Pub

Property: Village Inn and Pub
Address: 500 Mallery St, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Village Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn And Pub Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing