We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, unique and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Inn and Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I would have liked to give this inn a 5 star, and would have done so if the breakfast was a little more expansive. The Village Inn was the highlight of our stay in SSI. The architecture exudes character, the rooms have everything (robes, hair dryer, great beds, comforters, night time chocolates, and more), and the breakfasts had more than enough to satisfy me. However you will not find hot eggs, sausage or bacon served. Still, there was tons of delicious food and alternatives to choose from. The location is ideal, and served us well the one night that we enjoyed 2 drinks at the pub. We didnt think it was a good idea to drive, so opted for one of the many decent restaurants within a block or two from the inn. It was nice to converse with other guests and locals at the inn's pub before we went out for dinner each night. I would definitely highly recommend this inn to others.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Village Inn and Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 434 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Found this b&b on a groupon and was most definately worth every penny. Rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delish, they served homeade waffles and fresh fruit both days. The pub on site is a bonus and is cozy and chill. The location is perfect, short walk from the pier and the lighthouse, and of course all the shops on mallery street, however if I had one complaint it would be the hot water runs out quickly in the rooms, but my boyfriend says I like my showers scalding hot lol and i got off to a late start so maybe i got a cold shower because everyone else had already showered....My boyfriend and I brought our bikes and were able to bike around the rest of the island for sight seeing. Have to stop by iguanas sea food for their fried shrimp, delish! I personally paired it with Georgia's own strawn wheat beer, light in color rich in taste:) Blue water cafe has a beautiful view of ocean and tip of pier, we had happy hour there upstairs, double drink for price of one. Also check out Brogens bar and grille- good wings fun atmosphere right by Pier!
A short distance in the other direction on the Corner of Arnold and ocean drive, is beach comber barbecue, they have amazing burgers! I had the bacon and Swiss burger, and their workers showed true southern hospitality:) Also the best BBQ joint I've tried ever Southern soul, guy fieri from triple d ate here and no wonder cause it is exceptionally good! We had the pulled pork plate with a variety of sides...
The view from light house was gorgeous, easy climb to top, the other museums were interesting as well. Enjoy, relax, indulge!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Broadway00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a great room with two balconies, one that faced the main entrance and the other that faced the main avenue where we could enjoy our breakfast or a glass of wine. The breakfast which was included in the rate consisted of fresh fruit & orange juice, waffles, cerial, yogurt & bagels and was better than most you will find in other hotels. When we come back to St. Simons the Village Inn will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a find.
We happened to arrive when a celebration for an employee wedding was taking place and we were made to feel most welcome. Everything from lovely linens, bathrobes, were designed to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I chose this spot as a surprise for my husband's birthday and was able to get a King Junior room (no sitting area except a desk and outside balcony) which was just perfect for a cold winter's weekend stay. The location is convenient to walking to the lighthouse, pier, park, local shops, and a variety of good restaurants in the vicinity. The continental breakfast was just right our first morning and a glass of wine at the day's end by the fireplace was relaxing. We'll recommend it to others making their way to St. Simon's and we'll be back, too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The reception staff makes you feel like they are your personal conciege. This inn's lobby and pub are in a charming 1930s beach cottage that is surrounded by a courtyard and pool area. As would be expected with an English cottage in the countryside, the eterior walls of the buildings that house the charming rooms are graced with ivy and the whole property is shaded with lush plantings and live oak trees. The rooms have plantation shutters in place of drapes which makes for a neat and tidy appearance. The comfortable mattresses and bed linens with a feather duvet are soft and welcoming. Each room has its own juliet balcony or porch sized for two accessed by french doors. Steps away from the inn are a wide variety of boutique shops, antique stores, restaurants and taverns. St. Simon's public library is nearby and we sat in comfortable chairs pulled up to the windows that offer a gorgeous waterfront view while enjoying a quiet hour of reading. Either begin your evening with a cocktail at the inn's pub or end it with a nightcap there before retiring to your room. Wonderful couples escape.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a better view from the balcony
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been to this inn many times and it is a wonderful place to stay. All the shops in the town and many good places to eat are in walking distance. There is a full breakfast bar and afternoon refreshments. It is a lovely restored property and all the staff are super friendly and nice. I went there with American Historic Inns guidebook.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony are nice in good weather!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Simons Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn and Pub

Address: 500 Mallery St, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $137 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Inn and Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn And Pub Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing