We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, old hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel was very accommodating, but definitely needs some updates! The views are spectacular, and the resort is very nice - golf course, bike rental, pool and dining! My husband and I ate breakfast both mornings, and it was tasty and well priced. We rented bikes and rode around the island, and also lounged by the pool which was very clean. We did have issues with the people above us, we could hear them pacing until 2AM and up again at 8AM, but the hotel kindly moved us to a different room so we could sleep the next night! If we return to St. Simons Island we'll definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a marsh view, and if you're a light sleeper a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    85
    66
    20
    9
See reviews for
54
79
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah GA
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed here during a conference and were very happy with our stay. The rooms were nicely appointed with lots of room. The rooms facing the marsh have a screened porch with rocking chairs which were nice to have. The conference provided meals catered by the resort and it was surprisingly good. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and each meal had some really great food. The dinner especially was excellent. The staff (housekeeping and restaurant) were courteous and efficient and the resort is kept clean. Bottom Line: a nice place to stay, even better place to eat

Room Tip: Above ground floor gives better view of the marsh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a refurbished older resort, our third floor room overlooked the beautiful marsh, and you can see the water level rise and fall with the tides, and the beautiful marsh birds constantly landing. That was just about the best amenity they've got. Our executive studio was fine for two quick days, but would not have been special enough for a vacation. Many here were golfing, and the course looked immaculate. We only ate breakfast here, and it was beautifully presented. The kitchenette in our room was handy for reheating restaurant leftovers. The TV was badly dated. The large vanity in the bath was a plus. Be sure to request a marsh view with a screened porch. The outside elevators to the upper floors are really old.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor marsh room, also request a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Criti-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beds were as comfortable as could be. Washing machine and dryer outside of room had no charge. We had a room with extra seating area, but no balcony and we did not have a marsh view. It was still great.

The food was delicious. The bartenders were friendly. It is an easy trek down Frederica Road to shopping areas, Fort Frederica, etc.
We found it to be a great place to stay and highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Mard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a lot of people coming from out of town for a funeral and realized that we could not accommodate everyone in our home. So, we decided that the girls would stay at our house and the boys would get hotel rooms. We live on St. Simons, but because this was near Labor Day, I was concerned that we could not get rooms on the island. Through our friend Sandra, we found that Sea Palms had some rooms available. I called and a very nice & pleasant voice answered the phone and took our reservations. My husband and his brother later told me how nicely they were greeted at the reservation desk. They also were impressed with the room. It was large and had a beautiful view that overlooked the lagoon. They enjoyed the room so much that my husband didn’t want to come home after our friends left. Let me also add, that the evening of the funeral, about 9pm, we went unannounced to the Putters Club (club room) a party of about 25 people. Christie & John welcomed us and accommodated our party without hesitation. They were so pleasant, arranged the tables the way we wanted them, took our orders and it didn’t take long for the food to come out – and it was delicious! This day also happen to be my little cousin's 16 year birthday. Her Dad brought a cake, lit up the candles and brought it in. We all sang Happy Birthday & STO LAT! Christie & John were so nice and didn't hesitate to bring out the plates, helped cut the cake and we enjoyed being a family. Let me say this - my husband can’t wait until we get a full house again, so that he can move into Sea Palms for a few nights! I have also added the Putter's Club on my list of restaurants.
Misia

Room Tip: Ask for room with a lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my 1st time in St. Simons and it was a birthday celebration. We had a bottom floor and could barely see the marsh but if you have a top floor, I am sure the views are spectacular. The rooms are large but dated. I can see where this was a booming resort 30 years ago but needs some updating for the walls, bathroom, kitchen cabinets, etc. We did not play golf but a lot of guests were. We were told that they have recently completed a lot of improvements to the golf course and are currently redoing the bunkers.

We had cocktails in Putters with John the bartender. He was fabulous!!! He invented a drink and we helped him tweak it then gave my husband one to take back to the room. We had a blast chatting with him. While we were in the restaurant, there was a wedding party and they were fighting. We also found out that several of them left no tip or short changed the server. The servers were doing a great job and did not deserve to be treated like this.

We would definitely go back and look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very comfortable, spacious room, squeaky clean. TIP-3rd floor view's fantastic of salt water river and marsh over to Sea Island. So close to all St Simons has to offer. Property just sold so expect NEWER and even better facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukeusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
115 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#10 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
60 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
4.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center

Property: Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center
Address: 515 N Windward Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-1155
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palms Golf And Tennis Resort
Sea Palms Golf & Tennis Hotel Saint Simons Island
Sea Palms Hotel Tennis
Sea Palms Resort Tennis
Sea Palms Resort Saint Simons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing