We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Beautiful”
Review of Epworth By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Epworth By The Sea
Fairview
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Beautiful”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have been on planning teams for several gathering held at Epworth By the Sea. The staff was very helpful in meeting all our requests. The site is beautiful and nurturing for people's spirits. I highly recommend Epworth By the Sea.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
14
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A true coastal paradise... from the massive live oaks to the sunsets over the water, this is a refreshing getaway. Turner Lodge at Epworth is the only riverfront hotel on St. Simons. Fantastic views, clean rooms, and a very friendly staff. The grounds are beautiful and offer gardens, historic chapels, and bike rentals on site. Located on the west end of the island you are just minutes away from the beach and village. You are also nearly guaranteed to see dolphins on the river from your patio... I also recommend Cap's dolphin tours (located just over the bridge at Morningstar Marina.)

Room Tip: There are many cheaper options, but Turner Lodge is the highest quality location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SirPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
308 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

First stayed here in high school. Now 25 years later, it is more beautiful and peaceful than I remember. Couple it with a day trip to the perfect Cumberland Island close by and you will have a heavenly trip. Also tour the historic and interesting Jekyll Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Epworth is a special place with gorgeous views of the Frederica River on St. Simons. The huge, graceful trees and lovely grounds are so peaceful. It really is a sanctuary. You feel as if you're in a protected cocoon with nothing to worry about. The sunsets are amazing! A hidden gem. This would be a good and relatively inexpensive place for a vacation, business retreat or church retreat, especially when compared to the rest of the island. For those planning church or nonprofit or business retreats, there's a cafeteria with meal service. I can't think of a downside.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms at the Turner Lodge seems to be the nicest choice. They have full windows overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RJMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not easy to find as a lodging search BUT worth the research ! If you google the name Epworth by the sea .org - (no spaces) you will get to their web page/phone ect. It is a retreat/conference center run by the Methodist Church. We stayed in Turner lodge. It was one of the best view of river and bridge toward Brunswick. Newest with private balcony. Grounds were very lovely & quiet this weekend as no big events. Has an outdoor pool but hours did not fit our crazy busy schedule so cant tell you any details. Liked that I was helping a Christian organization.

Room Tip: ALL rooms in Turner Lodge face the WATER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeasaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Epworth is a conference retreat center, but also a great place to visit when not part of a retreat setting. Lovely Lane Chapel is beautiful and so is everything else about the place. When you go through the gate entering Epworth it is like leaving your cares and worries behind. One of my favorite time of the day is watching the awesome sunsets! You can choose the type of lodging that your budget allows. Highly recommend when on St.Simons Island.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, I recommend the third floor of the Turner Lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiredteacher65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Definitely a retreat environments and was here for just that, a women's church retreat. Grounds are beautiful. Stayed in the newer hotel space. Very nice room - similar to a Courtyard or Hampton. All the rooms have balconies overlooking the waterway - perfect for watching the sunset. Off property, St. Simons are golfing opportunities, shopping downtown, and a prayer labrynth at Fredrica Park (hey- it was a church retreat!). Lots of group spaces/rooms available. Cafeteria style food plus salad bar.

Room Tip: Higher up floors for better sunset watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HobcawChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Simons Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#10 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epworth By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epworth By The Sea

Property: Epworth By The Sea
Address: 100 Arthur J Moore Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2201
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Epworth By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epworth is known for its natural scenic surroundings, complete retreat accommodations, state-of-the-art facilities and wide range of food service options. Among America's most popular Christian retreat and conference centers, Epworth is one of the most beautiful and graceful vacation spots in the magnificent Golden Isles. Whether you are planning a small meeting, large conference, retreat, training session, family vacation or reunion, or just an individual getaway, you can count on our friendly, experienced staff to handle all the details with style. We have housing facilities accommodating up to 900 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Epworth By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epworth By The Sea Hotel Saint Simons Island
Epworth Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing