We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Epworth By The Sea
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus St. Simons(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$127
$118
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$189
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$150
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Lodge(Saint Simons Island)
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Sea Island(Saint Simons Island)
$197
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$179
$170
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Inn and Suites(Saint Simons Island)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
38
31
10
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
31
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturner lodgemethodist churchcafeteria styleconference centerrestful placelive oaksjekyll islandoak treesretreatpittsmarshaccommodationspropertydehumidifierbrunswickbalconiesga
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 84 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Epworth is a conference retreat center, but also a great place to visit when not part of a retreat setting. Lovely Lane Chapel is beautiful and so is everything else about the place. When you go through the gate entering Epworth it is like leaving your cares and worries behind. One of my favorite time of the day is watching the awesome sunsets! You can choose the type of lodging that your budget allows. Highly recommend when on St.Simons Island.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, I recommend the third floor of the Turner Lodge!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiredteacher65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Definitely a retreat environments and was here for just that, a women's church retreat. Grounds are beautiful. Stayed in the newer hotel space. Very nice room - similar to a Courtyard or Hampton. All the rooms have balconies overlooking the waterway - perfect for watching the sunset. Off property, St. Simons are golfing opportunities, shopping downtown, and a prayer labrynth at Fredrica Park (hey- it was a church retreat!). Lots of group spaces/rooms available. Cafeteria style food plus salad bar.

Room Tip: Higher up floors for better sunset watching.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HobcawChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

spent a weekend at Epworth and stayed at the D. Abbott Turner Lodge and it was an awesome experience. All the rooms have balconies overlooking the Frederica River. Beautiful and peaceful environment. the room was reasonably priced, very clean, and the staff is very friendly. Ate all meals in the Dining Room and I have to say I looked forward to every meal. Good Southern cooking at it's best...fried chicken, meat loaf, pork chops, Mac n cheese...it was oh so good!! I will definitely return.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have visited this facility 4 times over the past 6 years. The price is reasonable, the grounds are beautiful and the customer service is amazing. The food is cafeteria style and while it wouldn't be what you consider 5 star cuisine, it is tasty.

The youth cabins are older, but they are clean. Robertson Inn is well kept and my experience there was pleasurable. In the years that I have gone to Epworth I have never stayed in the newer lodging, but from all accounts the rooms are wonderful.

I would recommend this conference center for any group looking for a location to hold their conference. There is a certain peace that I experience whenever I visit. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peachvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We took a long-weekend to St. Simons for a family birthday outing. Epworth is a retreat location that we had been to in the past for both Church related events and work events. It has extensive grounds with hundred year old live oaks, Spanish moss, walking and biking paths, pool, tennis courts, basketball court, playgrounds, and cafeteria. The rooms are basic. They are not the focus and are not intended to be luxury accommodations. The grounds, atmosphere, and other parts of the facility more than make up for the basic nature of the rooms. We stayed on the 3rd floor of the Robertson Building at the end overlooking the dock and marina that is next door to Epworth - breathtaking view! Lovely staff, nice cafeteria, and a very relaxing atmosphere that is excellent for families because there is no alcohol allowed on the campus. We were the only people in the whole building but they opened it and had maid service because I wanted to be overlooking the pier. What a great group of people run Epworth.

Room Tip: Talk to the reservation clerk. They only do reservations by phone and the people there are wonderful and will really explain each room and try their best to work with you to have the very best experience!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docrwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews