We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Simons Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular guest at Hampton Inns. I find them conveniently located and usually newly renovated or brand new. You usually can't go wrong. On my way back from a conference in Amelia Island we stopped at St. Simons Island for the weekend. We had arranged for a room at the Hampton Inn on the island.
Upon arrival the way in was not impressive. You have to drive thru a car wash parking lot to gain access to the property. Not a good first impression. The lobby was nice and well appointed but our room was I thought going to be a problem. It was right in back of the elevator. I was sure we'd be hearing the elevator door and chimes all night long. Well, that didn't happen. Whoever built this building must have triple insulated the elevator shaft. We never heard a thing. In fact for convenience the "20's" rooms may be the best rooms in the house.
The breakfast was not so good, which was surprising since most Hampton Inn breakfasts are pretty good.
Nevertheless, I'll still come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Simons Island, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your resent review of our Hampton Inn on St. Simons Isl. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the overall accommodations. I'm not to crazy about the car wash entrance next door either but there is not a lot I can do. I hope your travels will bring you back our way again have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    157
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
113
190
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This Hampton Inn is well located in the middle of town. It is within walking distance of most everything you will need. The staff was great. They were especially helpfull in locating a spot for dinner, Catch 228 (Great choice for seafood) mostly filled with locals and only 2 blocks away. Everything was clean and neat. No particular good views but a good choice when passing through the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlbroswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Aha - home base right in the center of the most beautiful island in Georgia! Beautiful room - clean, bright, extremely convenient. Very friendly and helpful staff. Like living at home but someone else makes the beds. Free, very tasty breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProvenExponent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel was so "island " and we loved that about it. The lobby was inviting and the room was ok. We were on the drugstore side of the hotel and the noise at night was crazy. We were not sure what was going on, but it almost sounded like the top of a dumpster slamming shut for about 15 minutes straight. Ask for a room away from that side of the hotel. Breakfast was alright, but it seemed like they were out of a lot of items.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reservation staff was quick and efficient. Lobby and public areas were fine but hallways need refreshing. Room was fine but I hate the look of their new bedding. They have comfortable pillow-top mattresses but when the bed is made up, it looks lumpy and disheveled. In fact, a couple we were traveling with, called the front desk and asked if the bed had been made or the duvet just pulled over an unmade bed .......and they were serious. Having been a Hampton recently, we were not surprised b/c that had been our reaction the first time we saw it. Bathroom floors, especially corners, needed better cleaning. I think they should steam clean the grout while they're at it. Desk chair had a nasty stain on it. For very little effort,they could have proved the experience totally. Breakfast was minimal but okay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crickett46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was clean, quiet, right in the middle of the island, and had a pool. Stayed two nights and never heard a peep from anyone (except if they were in front of your door), or from another room.
Breakfast was good and the breakfast area was clean and tidy. Lots of options, not just your run of the mill Danish, fruit, and juice. They offered hot oatmeal with different toppings, eggs, potatoes, sausage, cereal, bread, English muffins, assorted muffins, and waffles. I would stay here again. It's also within walking distance to Redfern Village which has dining and shopping. Across the street is a Starbucks and grocery shopping center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank landcruiser1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This inn is convenient to all points on the island, with rooms that are comfortable and clean.
The refrigerator was set too high; although I did not complain, I've read other complaints about this.
The complimentary breakfast was better than some; however, the addition of more fresh fruit and dare I say, some organic items (!) would be so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.7 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#5 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#8 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
7.2 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Simons Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Simons Island

Property: Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Address: 2204 Demere Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn St. Simons Island 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Simons Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island Hotel Saint Simons Island
St Simons Hotels
Hampton Inn Saint Simons Island
Hotels St Simons
St Simons Island Hampton Inn
Saint Simons Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing