We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay near Sea Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Certificate of Excellence
West Sand Lake, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay near Sea Island”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Conference on Sea Island was at the insanely expensive Cloisters Resort. This Hampton Inn was 5 minutes away, very comfortable, reasonably priced and included a wonderful breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Simons Island, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the Hampton Inn on St. Simons Island. We are glad you had a good experience and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    201
    61
    20
    8
See reviews for
151
244
31
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stay at this property several times a year. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is in a great location with plenty of restaurants within walking distance. My last few visits, the internet has been very unreliable. I was hoping this was a one time problem, but it happened on several occassions. As the internet is very important to my work, I have had to stay at another hotel on the Island. I hope they get this fixed....I would love to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billdozer949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Simons Island, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor about your stay on St. Simons Isl. I'm sorry you experienced internet problems, we are working on improving that service. I have added an ethernet line through our cable company and expanded our band width over three times what it was. I hope you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We initially drove past the hotel as the driveway goes into another business and we didn't realize you had to turn in there to get to the hotel, it was dark out. The hotel was very clean and we liked the additional vanity and sink outside the bathroom. The only downfall was our room was right next to the elevator and it was noisy with people coming and going. Something also came on every once and awhile that shook the room. Seemed like it happened when another room turned on the water. Recommed a room away from the elevator. Walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceGirl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Simons Island, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your resent stay at our Hampton Inn on St. Simons Island, we hope you will be back again soon. Next time let us know to move you away from the elevator we want you to be 100% satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Lake, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our welcome to the Hampton Inn was perfect after a long drive. The room was spotless, and the complimentary breakfast was exceptional...much better than most places. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. The next time we travel to SSI we will definitely stay at The Hampton Inn!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Simons Island, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your resent visit to the Hampton Inn on St. Simons Isl. and your kind words regarding your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

First impressions are lasting impressions, and the lady on the Reception desk on check-in could not have been more welcoming and helpful.
The rooms are okay although the bathroom could do with a refurbishment.
Breakfast in the morning was included in the room rate and average.
Several restaurants and shops in the immediate area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Simons Island, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for recent stay at the Hampton Inn on St. Simons and your positive comments. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are at the Hampton Inn in St. Simons Island in Georgia and its the worst Hotel ever! The people here are rude. The staff and manaement here are not accomidating to our needs. We asked for late check out, and they make you call the morning of which is weird to begin with. So we call the mornning of and normal check out it 11 and the best at first they could give us was 12?! How is that a late check out? Then after pleading andf begging they gave us 1pm and we were lucky we even got that. The manage even explained how this is the slowest time of the year and no one is here or waiting to check in and yet he could not help us out. I would never come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank britfor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Simons Island, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn on St. Simons. I know that you were unhappy because you couldn't get a 2 p.m. check out and I am sorry. The rules are designed to operate the hotel as efficiently as possible and sometimes they don't work for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent 1 night at the Hampton Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service at check in was excellent and they even call your room after you have settled in to make sure everything is okay. They provide fresh baked cookies nightly, complimentary continental breakfast, and free wi-fi. We had a king room that had a flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, and coffee amenities. The hotel is within walking distance to CVS pharmacy, several restaurants (including the famous Southern Soul BBQ which was featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives) and a strip mall across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Simons Island, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
510 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#10 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Simons Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Simons Island

Property: Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Address: 2204 Demere Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn St. Simons Island 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Simons Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island Hotel Saint Simons Island
St Simons Hotels
Hampton Inn Saint Simons Island
St Simons Island Hampton Inn
Hotels St Simons
Saint Simons Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing