We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dime and Nickel property” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn St. Simons Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dime and Nickel property”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This property is below average with dated rooms and strict management. The hotel does not go out of way to accommodate guests as they think they have a lock on the location. Poor water pressure, pitiful gym, and so so breakfast. The staff is nice but the general manager has a lot of work in the area of customer service, poor attitude. He actually told me if I didn't like property to stay in Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meistermark0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    182
    55
    18
    8
See reviews for
135
218
29
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times, due to business in the area. This is just a so-so Hampton Inn. The entrance is unusual, not marked, so you drive past it without seeing how to enter. It's not on or very near the beach. They finally stuck a few machines in an old motel room and call it a Fitness Center, but it's pretty plain. On the plus side, it is clean, the staff is friendly, and the place is quiet. It's an ok place if you have other business, and won't be focused on your accommodations very much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank South_Georgia_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Not bad - just so-so. The room was clean but somewhat dated. I would stay again but would like to shop around for a bette stay for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent_Traveler_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This isn't a super-new Hampton, but we think it's great for a HHonors reward near the beach in coastal Georgia. The outside pool is better than most older Hamptons and we were surprised that the road traffic wasn't too loud. Nice overhang for shade and the deep end is 8ft (unusual for a hotel pool of this type).

We also love the location because there are good places to eat within walking distance or very short drive. Starbucks, ChickFilA, Bonefish, and Burger King across the street. Our favorite beach is the Coast Guard Beach which is less than 2 miles away.

If you are trying to do St Simons on a budget or use Hilton Points, this place is sweet. Not to be compared to the ritzy places like Sea Island or King & Prince.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The room was clean and well supplied. Nicely laid out and the hotel is in an excellent location, convenient to shopping and a short drive to the beach. I had a few complaints. we were in room 230 near the elevator motor and we could hear it running all night. It sounded like a loud air conditioner unit was just outside our window, turning on and off every few seconds. The shower head sprayed all over and was a bit weak for washing out sand from the beach. We have stayed here before and didn't have that problem. Breakfast was fine but rarely had enough seating. We would either have to wait or go outside and its pretty muggy in July. That seemed to be more on the fault of the other guests, who had finished eating but just sat at tables reading the paper or talking. Otherwise a nice place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treehouse44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel is not on the beach but it's worth the money to stay here. The hotel is nicely decorated in a modern beachy theme. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and updated! Breakfast is provided every morning, and it's promptly removed at 10:00, and the cleaning services start at 8:30 AM. If you would like to sleep in, put your relaxing sign on the door otherwise you will not be a happy person :). The hotel does have smoking rooms, and at times the halls smell of smoke, but I never smelled anthing in my room.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bheins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

I am a GOLD CARD Hilton member, and checked in, went to my event, came back and found I had a SMOKINGg room. I was not told this at the desk on sign in. I went to ask to be reassigned and was told my booking was on an "available" non smoking basis. Blank stares followed. No other rooms were available as bus loads of people were checking in. I said to them, you could have told me at 3:00 when i checked I was in a smoking room. Blank stares and a mumbled "I am sorry". No help to find another room. they were not sorry, they did not care. I would recommend the Hoilday Inn a 1/4 mile down the road, a non smoking hotel and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanBlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.7 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Simons
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Simons Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Simons Island

Property: Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Address: 2204 Demere Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-1605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn St. Simons Island 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Simons Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island Hotel Saint Simons Island
St Simons Hotels
Hampton Inn Saint Simons Island
St Simons Island Hampton Inn
Hotels St Simons
Saint Simons Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing